Kaestner wins City Amateur by 3

July 27, 1992|By Tara Finnegan | Tara Finnegan,Staff Writer

Bob Kaestner did not want to come up short for the third time this year.

After finishing second in the Maryland State Golf Association Amateur Championships and in the Maryland Stroke Play Amateurs, Kaestner entered the 38th Annual Baltimore City Amateur Golf Championship at Sparrows Point CC with one thing in mind.

"I told myself that I didn't want to finish second again," Kaestner said.

And he didn't.

Kaestner (Baltimore CC) shot par in the final round and finished with 149 to beat Henry Blue (Caves Valley) by three strokes to win the event for the second time. He won the tournament in 1983 for his first major victory. The 1983 tournament was also held at Sparrows Point, which made yesterday's win all the more special.

"I've won the [Baltimore CC] club championship four times, but this one is much more significant," he said.

Kaestner shot a first-round 77 and Blue shot a first-round 79 Saturday. They were tied after the first nine holes of yesterday's final round.

"When I heard that we were tied after nine holes, I bogeyed the 10th and three-putted [for bogey] on 11," Kaestner said. "Then I told myself to get going, and I played the last seven 3-under par."

He ended his day by chipping in a 40-foot shot for birdie on 18. He only needed a bogey to win the title.

"The course played long, so it played right up to my strength," Kaestner said. "I felt as though I had a very good chance of winning."

Kaestner said rainy conditions allow the course to play long, which means the ball will not travel as far because of the wet grounds.

Pat O'Malley (Baltimore CC) and Jim Pelisek (Sparrows Point) finished with 155s. Mike McShane (Baltimore CC), Rick Sovero (Rolling Road), Mike Duffy (Rolling Road), David Nocar (Chartwell CC), Bob Atwell (Hillendale) and Rick Burns (Clifton Park) shot 158s to round out the top finishers.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.