HMS Insurance Associates Inc. in Brooklandville bought the...


July 27, 1992

HMS Insurance Associates Inc. in Brooklandville bought the Baltimore office of Hartman, McLean & Schmidt Inc., a provider of property, casualty and personal insurance.


Noble Steed Associates won 10 awards in these categories in the 1992 National Healthcare Marketing Award. Entries produced for Prudential Health Care System: magazine series/print ads, newspaper series/print ads, magazine single ad and newspaper single ad. Entries produced for Prudential Health Care Plan of the Mid-Atlantic won awards for: total advertising campaign and collateral material. Entries produced for the Johns Hopkins Geriatric Center won: total advertising campaign and newspaper single ad. And entries produced for the Johns Hopkins Asthma and Allergy Center won awards for: newspaper series/print ads and outdoor.

The Baltimore Chapter of Financial Executives Institute honored these students for outstanding achievement. From Loyola College: Erin C. Everd, Kevin M. Hanrahan and Amy K. O'Keefe. From Salisbury State University: Sharon K. Collins, Kathleen V. Elliott and Kevin Slack. From the University of Baltimore: Robert E. Melanson, William Shump and Jhy-Shain Ani Wee. From the University of Maryland-College Park: Laurie D. Fox, Jennifer Ross and Brian Ping-keung Chan. From Morgan State University: Renee Harding, Shelly Saunders and Kimberly Waldron. From Towson State University: Arian Jakob, Robert W. Sharps and Barbara A. Zientek. From the University of Maryland Baltimore County: Patrick Shirdon, Robin Gilliam and Stephen M. Rosen.

John Patterson, a copywriter with Gray Kirk/VanSant, a Baltimore-based advertising agency, won a gold and silver medal from the New York Festivals International Competition, an advertising industry award.

Entrepreneur of the Year Awards, an award program sponsored by Ernst & Young, Inc. magazine, Merrill Lynch and Warfield's Business Record, were presented to: Raymond C. Nichols, president of BSC Financial Group; Maxine R. Hopkins, president of M. R. Hopkins Transport; Nicholas R. Innerbichler, president of Technical & Management Services Corp.; David S. Cordish, chief executive officer of The Cordish Co.; Charles O. Heller, director of the Dingman Center for Entrepreneurship; and Carl William Struever, president of Struever Brothers, Eccles & Rouse Inc.

Royal Cruise Line in Columbia named Commerce Travel in Baltimore top producer for the Maryland, Delaware, Washington region.

Systems Integration magazine named The Apex Group Inc. in Columbia one of the top 100 system integrators in the country.

Hammond Associates, an Annapolis-based architectural firm, won an Award for Excellence in Residential Development from the Maryland State Planning Commission for the Woodspring community in New Market.

Century 21 H.T. Brown Real Estate in Columbia won the Century 21 Gold Club award for the first quarter of 1992.

Howard County Chamber of Commerce named W. R. Grace & Co. Business of the Year and Richard H. Pettingill, senior vice president and partner at Casey & Associates, Businessperson of the Year.

Dr. Barbara C. Hansen was named to the national task force on the National Institute of Health Strategic Plan. Dr. Hansen is director of the Obesity and Diabetes Research Center and professor of physiology in the School of Medicine at the University of Maryland at Baltimore. YWCA of Greater Baltimore elected the following officers: president, Sharon A. H. May, chief of the Sex Offense Unit, Baltimore office of the state's attorney; first vice president, Lynn Shanholtz, owner and president of the Shanholtz Professional Corp.; second vice president, Lynette Phillips, attorney with Piper and Marbury; treasurer, Pamila Brown, assistant attorney general, Maryland Department of Transportation; assistant treasurer, Phyllis Cook, independent consultant; secretary, Laura Whitfield, past principal of General Wolfe Elementary School; and assistant secretary, Karen Irish, forensic chemist/safety officer, Maryland State Police Crime Laboratory.

Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Central Maryland Inc. elected the following officers to the board of directors: president, J. Scott Lindsay, controller of Heritage Savings Bank; first vice president, Thomas V. Bonvissuto, personnel executive with First National Bank of Maryland; second vice president, Judge Andre M. Davis of the Circuit Court for Baltimore City; treasurer, Carolyn C. Collini, financial consultant for the Private Client Group of Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith; and secretary, Joan Scott, administrative assistant of Delegate Howard Rawlings.

Kathleen H. Sabatier and John B. Frisch were named co-chairs of the 1992 Fine Wine Auction and Weekend, a fund-raising event for the Baltimore division of the American Heart Association.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.