Fitzgerald wins women's amateur

July 25, 1992|By James H. Jackson | James H. Jackson,Staff Writer

ROCKVILLE -- Jane Fitzgerald got four birdies and eight pars yesterday and defeated Bonnie Fry, 5 and 4, to win the Maryland State Golf Association Women's Amateur championship at Norbeck Country Club.

Fitzgerald, the top seed, won her third state amateur title in as many tries, having won in 1989 and 1990. She did not compete last year.

"This was my best round of the week," said Fitzgerald, who competed unattached. "I felt good and was hitting the ball well. Also, my putting was better today [yesterday]."

Fitzgerald birdied the second and fifth holes and parred the first, third and fourth to go three up, and Fry never could catch up. Fitzgerald went four up with a par on No. 7 and five up with a birdie on the 10th.

"The birdies on two and five put me in a hole early," said Fry, from Maryland Golf and Country Club in Bel Air. "I think I was too tough on myself, put myself under too much pressure. I wanted so badly to win that I hurt my game."

Fitzgerald consistently out-drove Fry, who is 7 1/2 months pregnant, and hit almost every green in regulation.

She lost the 11th when Fry had a birdie, but birdied the par-3 12th to regain her five-hole advantage. She could have closed out Fry on 13 but missed a short par putt and had to go to 14, where both had pars and Fitzgerald won the match.

"I was very upset at missing that easy putt on 13, but I had to put it behind and get back to the task at hand," Fitzgerald said.

"She [Fitzgerald] really knows how to put the pressure on you," said Fry who lost in her third state amateur title match. She previously lost in 1978 and 1984.

"It's a very nice win for me, and I couldn't by more pleased," said Fitzgerald, whose husband, Jim, the head pro at Chevy Chase Country Club, acted as her caddie all week.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.