Roadrunners series moves to Taneytown

July 22, 1992

* The Roadrunners Club Twilight Series goes to Taneytown for the Sells Mills 8-Mile Run on Thursday, July 30. Larry Pickett and Jenny Caple lead the series in the men's and women's divisions.

Two more races are scheduled for the Twilight series as Paul Hannsen and Maggie Leffler won the Piney 10K run. Thursday's race begins at 6:30 p.m. at the Taneytown Baptist Church on Sells Mill Road. For more information call Sharon Schaeffer, 857-5154.

* The Babe Ruth State Tournament will begin at Grove Field in Frederick on Thursday at 5 p.m. with the Carroll 16-year-olds team playing against either Prince George's County No. 1 or No. 2 team.

The 16-18 year-olds play tonight at 8 p.m. against Frederick, also at Grove Field.

The Babe Ruth Championship games conclude on July 27, 28 and 29.

The Section I winners, the Taneytown Little League Juniors, start play in the state tournament July 28, in Denton, Caroline County.

* The undefeated Green Turtles meet the undefeated Shannon's Saloon tonight at 6:30 at Sandymount Park in the summer lacrosse league.

Saturday and Sunday is the start of the summer lacrosse tournaments with the Travel teams and Carroll League games at John Owings Park at 4 and 6 p.m.

The semifinals are on Sunday, with the championships decided the following Sunday at John Owings.

* The third round of the 15th Annual Youth Duckpin Invitational Championship will take place at Mount Airy Bowling Center tomorrow at 6 p.m. For additional information, contact Mike Nickol at 625-6630.

* All of the swimming teams in the county will converge on the Westminster Riding Club tomorrow at 5 p.m. for the Carroll County Novice Swimming Meet.

* The South Carroll swimming team will travel to Ellicott City on Saturday for a dual meet with the Forrest Hill Swim Club at 9 a.m.

* In the South Penn League for Saturday: Westminster at Cashtown, Littlestown at Brushtown, Hanover at New Oxford, and Taneytown at Mummasburg for 6:15 p.m. games.

Monday, July 27: Westminster at Hanover, New Oxford at Brushtown, for 6:15 games; and Cashtown at Littlestown, Thurmont at Taneytown for 7 p.m. games.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.