Northeast, Chesapeake honor standout students

June 12, 1992

Members of the Class of '92 took their final bows last Saturday at graduation ceremonies at Northeast and Chesapeake high schools. But before they did, some of Pasadena's best and brightest sons and daughters were honored during the recent Senior Awards Nights.

At Northeast, Benjamin Anderson and Matthew Sexton were recognized as finalists in the National Merit Scholars program, with Damian Griffie receiving commended scholar status from the program.

Ernest Levroney was recognized as a commended scholar in the National Merit program for outstanding black students.

Anderson, Griffie, Levroney and Sexton received the Presidential Academic Fitness Award. This award is given to graduating seniors who have maintained at least a 3.3 grade-point average over a four-year period and scored in the 80th percentile on the SAT.

Sexton was also recognized as a finalist in the Maryland Distinguished Scholars Academic Talent program.

Cynthia Godbold received honorable mention from Maryland Distinguished Scholars Talent in the Arts program.

State of Maryland Merit Scholar awards, given to students who ranked in the top 5 percent of the class, went to: Benjamin Anderson, Rae Anne Dettrey, Dawn Lerlach, Damian Griffie, Michelle Hall, James King, Ernest Levroney, Kimberly Ryan, Wendy Scheleur, Matthew Sexton and Eboney Simmons.

Department awards were presented to: Patricia Bunn and Glenn McKinney, art; Linda Carle, business education; Eboney Simmons, English; Wendy Scheleur, foreign language/French; Matt Sexton, foreign language/Spanish, mathematics, physics; Nicole Stang, home economics; Cynthia Godbold, choir; John Dougherty, band; Joseph Hoyer and Stephanie Katzenberger, physical education; Ernest Levroney, biology, social studies; Damian Griffie, chemistry; Michael Schuster, technology education; and William Lager, vocational experience.

General Maryland State Scholarship awards were presented to: Daniel Cook, Jason Fishell, Glenn Hedgecoth, Stephanie Katzenberger, Eugene Pleyo, Matthew Sexton, Jennie Stamos and Sherrese Williams.

Senior class officer medals were given to: Stacy Reynolds, Chad Sanschagrin, Wendy Scheleur and Sandra Urgan.

Other local state and general scholarship and awards were presented to:

Benjamin Anderson: Army ROTC scholarship; presidential honors scholarship, Wheaton College; Tandy Top Two Percent academic award, National Honor Society.

Patricia Bunn: East Anne Arundel Lions Club; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; George Fox Middle School PTSA; Anne T. Carducci Memorial Northeast PTSA.

Rae Ann Dettrey: honorable mention, Anne Arundel County Sun Academic/Athletic Team; Eagle Times award; National Honor Society; Maryland Senatorial and House of Delegates scholarships; James E. Griffin Memorial; Kiwanis Club of Mountain Road.

Jason Fishell: scholarship grant, University of Maryland, College Park; House of Delegates Scholarship; East Anne Arundel Lions Club.

Bernard Frank: National Honor Society; High Point Elementary PTA.

Damian Griffie: Maryland House of Delegates scholarships; National Honor Society.

Stephen Gorski: Steve Carroll Memorial scholarship award; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; athletic scholarship, UMBC.

Michelle Hall: National Honor Society; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship.

Amy Jewer: Ladies of the Elks of Severna Park; Anne T. Carducci Memorial.

Ernest Levroney: Annapolis Links Scholarship; NIH fellowship/Howard Hughes Foundation; Russwurm scholarship and scholarship grant, Bowdoin College; Robert C. Byrd Scholarship, state Department of Education; Tandy Top Two Percent; National Honor Society.

Glenn McKinney: Pasadena Sign Co.; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship.

Scott Rey: scholarship grant, Western Maryland College; honorable mention, Anne Arundel County Sun Academic/Athletic Team; Maryland Senatorial Scholarship; Lauer's SuperThrift.

Stacy Reynolds: Harold N. Zastrow Memorial; Riviera Beach Elementary PTA; honorable mention, Anne Arundel County Sun Academic/Athletic Team.

Lisa Scanlon: House of Delegates scholarship; National Honor Society.

Wendy Scheleur: scholarship, Capital/Gazette All-Star Academic Team; National Honor Society; Maryland Senatorial scholarship; Pasadena Business Association.

Matthew Sexton: Edward J. Anderson scholarship, Scholarship for Scholars; Tandy Top Two Percent; National Honor Society; Raymond A. Kauffman Memorial; Patricia Born Duckett Memorial, Sunset Elementary PTA.

Eboney Simmons: Anne Arundel County Chapter NAACP academic achievement merit; Tandy Top Two Percent; National Honor Society.

Jennifer Vickery: athletic scholarship, Catonsville Community College; honorable mention, Anne Arundel County Sun Academic/Athletic Team; Maryland Senatorial scholarship; Eagle Times award; Kiwanis Club of Mountain Road.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.