Locals dot lacrosse All-America list

May 29, 1992|By Doug Brown

Syracuse attackman Tom Marechek and Johns Hopkins midfielder Adam Wright were the only players named for the second consecutive year to the U.S. Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association's All-America first team.

Three teams and honorable mentions were selected by a committee of 26 coaches chaired by Ted Bauer.

Marechek is joined on the first team by Syracuse teammates Charlie Lockwood and Dom Fin, both midfielders. NCAA champion Princeton has goalie Scott Bacigalupo of St. Paul's and defenseman David Morrow and North Carolina has midfielder Jim Buczek of Loyola and defenseman Alex Martin of Gilman.

The rest of the first team includes attackmen Darren Lowe of Brown and Mark Millon of Massachusetts and Maryland defenseman Brian Burlace of St. Mary's.

The teams:

FIRST TEAM Attack -- Tom Marechek, Syracuse; Darren Lowe, Brown; Mark Millon, Massachusetts. Midfield -- Adam Wright, Johns Hopkins; Charlie Lockwood, Syracuse; Jim Buczek, North Carolina; Dom Fin, Syracuse. Defense -- Brian Burlace, Maryland; Alex Martin, North Carolina; David Morrow, Princeton. Goalie -- Scott Bacigalupo, Princeton.

SECOND TEAM Attack -- Kevin Lowe, Princeton; Matt Riter, Syracuse; Jeff Wills, Johns Hopkins. Midfield -- Ryan Wade, North Carolina; Gary Miller, Loyola; Dan Donnelly, North Carolina; Tom Stanziale, Delaware. Defense -- Mike Mariano, Princeton; Carl Beernink, Towson State; Sean Quinn, Loyola. Goalie -- Kevin Farrington, Navy.

THIRD TEAM Attack -- Justin Tortolani, Princeton; John Webster, North Carolina; Steve Marohl, UMBC. Midfield -- Lindsay Dixon, Towson State; Roy Colsey, Syracuse; Andy Moe, Princeton; Dave Donovan, Duke. Defense -- George Glyphis, Virginia; John Winship, Syracuse; David Ryan, Yale. Goalie -- Scott Giardina, Johns Hopkins.

HONORABLE MENTION Attack -- John Blatchley, Towson State; Kevin Pehlke, Virginia; Jim Blanding, Loyola; Perry Frazier, Virginia; Joe Matassa, Duke; Chris Dail, Maryland; Jamie Archer, Syracuse; Brian Piccola, Johns Hopkins; Oliver Marti, Brown; Mike Thomas, North Carolina; Steve Heller, Army; Terry Riordan, Johns Hopkins. Midfield -- Brendan Sheehan, Yale; Clayton Simmers, Yale; Jamie Slough, Navy; Gregg Schmalz, Duke; Greg Waller, Princeton; Brian Lukacz, Johns Hopkins; Dan Reading, Maryland; Jack Herzlinger, C.W. Post; Jamie Watson, Rutgers; Ryan Taylor, Penn. Defense -- Nick Shevillo, Johns Hopkins; Greg Paradine, North Carolina; Dan DeTolla, Yale; Chris Lepp, Army; Carter Trudel, Brown; Mario Lopez, Massachusetts; Reid Jackson, Rutgers; Alex Schoonmaker, Penn State; Steve Cox, C.W. Post; David Schneid, Cornell; Brian Tully, Syracuse; Ric Beardsley, Syracuse. Goalie -- Tim McGeeney, Loyola; Steve Kavovit, Maryland; Tim Shea, Cornell.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.