Quaint village of Buckeystown shows off its historic past

DAYTRIPPING

May 24, 1992

Buckeystown is a quaint little village that lies off the beaten path. The town would most likely have been overlooked by travelers, had it not been for the 1981 opening of a bed and breakfast inn. Built in 1897, the restored inn now enjoys an international reputation. The Inn at Buckeystown will be open along with seven other homes and two churches during "Discover Historic Buckeystown," Saturday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Established in 1775, this small Frederick County village is on the National Register of Historic Places. During the house tour from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m., you can visit a stone home that was much admired by architect Frank Lloyd Wright, and Tuscarora, the estate of Charles Carroll of Carrollton.

There will be other attractions: carriage and wagon rides through town, music, crafts, antiques; and, for children, pony rides, face painting, clown performances and a traditional Maypole celebration.

Tickets for the house tour cost $12.50. Proceeds will benefit community projects of the Carroll Manor Lions Club, sponsors of the festival. Take the Buckeystown exit off Interstate 70 at Frederick. The town is five miles south of Frederick on state Route 85 south. Call (301) 662-0777.

Baltimore Sun Articles
|
|
|
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.