Top environmental posters announcedThe Carroll County...

Names in the news

May 10, 1992

WESTMINSTER — Top environmental posters announced

The Carroll County Environmental Health Department has announced the winners of its sixth annual Environmental Poster Contest for fourth-grade students.

A panel of four judged the posters on originality, artwork, visual impact, creativity and the relationship of the poster design to the theme, "Taking care of your Earth."

This year's winners were: first, Michelle Muller, Taneytown Elementary; second, Amy Polites, Eldersburg Elementary; and third, Kelsey Lampert, Eldersburg Elementary.

Place winners received Cranberry Mall certificates for $50, $25 and $15, respectively, and an Earth Day T-shirt.

The first-place winner will be on permanent display at the Carroll County Health Department, 540 Washington Road.

Halstad is named AHA chairman


Damian Halstad has been chosen chairman of the American Heart Association Carroll County branch 1992 Golf Classic, scheduled for Sept. 25 at Oakmont Green Golf Club in Hampstead.

As chairman, he will manage the planning, implementation and evaluation of the event.

Halstad is a county resident and attorney with Hoffman and Comfort in Westminster. He recently served as an appointed member of the Carroll County Charter Board, is an adjunct faculty member at Carroll Community College and is active in the Carroll County Chamber of Commerce.

The golf tournament will begin at noon and end with a catered meal.

Information: 876-1029.

School bus convention attended


Four Carroll County bus contractor representatives attended the School Bus Contractors of Maryland convention recently in BWI Marriott Hotel.

Participants saw new safety equipment, attended seminars on brakes and their maintenance and discussed the business of school busing. The group also talked about the Maryland Legislature's vote to extend the life of a school bus beyond the 12 years now allowed.

Those representing Carroll were: Irene Johnson of Westminster, president of the Carroll County Contractors; Louise Glover of Finksburg, secretary; Roscoe Marring of Woodbine, director; and Aubrey King of Mount Airy, director.

Award to go for WMC mentor program


Western Maryland College student David J. Radosevich has been named the recipient of the second Griswold-Zepp Award in Voluntarism, an annual award that enables recipients to carry out volunteer projects in the community.

Radosevich, a sophomore psychology major and the son of Mr. and Mrs. Richard Radosevich of Green Bay, Wis., will use the $1,250 stipend provided by the award to pay for a mentoring program for Carroll County high school students.

Under his proposal, as many as 15 Western Maryland students will work with a group of about 25 ninth- and 10th-graders in Maryland's Tomorrow Mentor Program, administered by the county school system.

The college students will spend the fall 1992 semester working with at-risk Westminster High School students to encourage the youths to stay in school and graduate, to improve their academic standing, to better their self-esteem, to develop career goals and to provide them with positive adult role models.

Volunteers are honored


The Bureau of Aging has recognized its volunteers at an ice cream social at Reese Fire Hall that included the county commissioners proclaiming May 1 Volunteer Day.

Programs using volunteers are the Alzheimer's Support Group, Ombudsman program, Life Enrichment, Lunch Bunch, senior centers, Senior Health Insurance Counseling and Advocacy program and Senior Information and Assistance.

The following volunteers received special recognition: Ruth Buffington, Martha Morningstar, Emily Wolbert, Agnes Hopper, Alda Poole, Josephine Hyson, Martha Stenger, Dolores Cross, Phil Stenger, Violet Shinnaberry, Florence Flickinger, Walter Strzelczy, Bud Burkhart, Mary King, Anna Slouck, Jean Colbert, Emily Holman, Margaret Duvall, Jane Phenicie, Estella Spurrier, Lucile Cumro, Virginia Lupish, Marion Shank, Nancy Vincent, Elizabeth Bresee, Felix Baker, Reba Haines, Viola Hoffman.

Also Al Waltz, Bea Waltz, Fran Barnes, Elva Hirt, Bernice Martin, Nick Barnes, Alverta Farney, Charles Cross, Ethel Baust, Carl Wisniewski, Libby Fuss, Virgie Hoffman, Myrtle Dutton, Ben Mellor, Bernice Broughton, John Dugan, Frank Strohkarck, Frances Fadely, Evelyn Schillaci, Ralph Pickett, Clara Fleming, Betty Normandy, Ruth Schmidt, Ellen Wilt, Louis Bresee, Hilda Harris, Peggy Haskins, Jack Imborne, Marta Pramschufer, Edward Rhoten, Mabel Reifsnyder, Mary Owen, Norma Sullivan, Tom Swanson.

Also, James Smith, Miriam Wagner, Dorothy Hubatka, Maude Little, Roberta Kasik, Edward J. Caldicott, Kay Ripley, Joyce Hendy, Donald E. Hill, Amos Wampler, Dorothy Wampler, Michael Wenderoth, Harold Pickett, Dorothy Rhoten, Romaine Seipp, Selma Gregory, Mary Sheppard, Ben Myers, Grant Ridgley, Hazel Warner, Angie Saxton, Ruby Lang, Felix Vigeveno, Emily Ferren, Edward Schomberg, Irene Stem, Lester Stem, Linda Marr and Charles Plaine.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.