Recognition tonight for unsung heroes

May 01, 1992|By From Staff Reports

More than 700 people will be on hand tonight at Marriott's Hunt Valley Inn for the 52nd Annual McCormick Unsung Heroes Awards Banquet.

One hundred candidates have been chosen to represent 64 Baltimore City and Baltimore County public, private, parochial and independent schools. The male athletes were chosen from football teams, and the female athletes from basketball teams.

Established in 1940 by the late Charles P. McCormick, the program recognizes team play and honors those who contribute substantially to the success of their teams without receiving acclaim.

Two McCormick scholarships, valued at $3,500 per year for each of four academic years, will be presented to one male athlete and one female athlete.

Mary Lou Retton, winner of the all-around gold medal in women's gymnastics at the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles, will serve as guest speaker.

Here is a list of the nominees:

Archbishop Curley -- Jason Sarratea; Archbishop Spalding -- Matthews DeMarco, Kristen Swift; Arlington Baptist -- Jennifer Wehner; Boys' Latin -- Darin Costantine; Calvert Hall -- Joseph Sporney; Cardinal Gibbons -- Glenn James; Carver -- Nathaniel Woods; Catholic -- Laurie Nizer; Catonsville -- Todd Heasley, Jenny Anderson; Chesapeake-BC -- Mitchell Jordan, Angela Lohnes; City College -- Albert Nowlin, Evynn Corden; Douglass -- Keith Parker; Dulaney -- Steven Wallen, C. Susanne Bull; Dunbar -- Robert Mason, LaShauna Jones; Dundalk -- Richard Nevy, Kelly Kern; Eastern Vo-Tech -- Derrick Ray; Edmondson -- Steve Everette, Andrea Davis; Forest Park -- Terrence Brown Jr., Lovia Sheperd; Franklin -- Kevin Groszkowski, Shannon Perry; Garrison Forest -- Sarah Black; Gilman -- Robert Byun; Hereford -- Kirk Bandelin, Kathleen O'Hara; Institute of Notre Dame -- Lisa Krastel; John Carroll -- Jacob Hollin, Jennifer Lund; Kenwood -- James Matthew Jr., Heather Jacob; Lake Clifton -- Keith Wright, Dena Freeman; Lansdowne -- Robert Jarmer; Loch Raven -- Albert Seeman, Heidi Binder; Loyola -- David Truax; Maryvale -- Kelly Rhodes; McDonogh -- Jeffrey Brecker, Blake Mules; Mervo -- Germaine Shaw, Keisha Maddox.

Milford Mill -- Bernard Burns Jr., Richele Penn; Mount de Sales -- Kerry Coleman; Mount St. Joseph -- Christopher Guest; Northern -- Carlos Hampleton, Tammi Spence; Northwestern -- Kevin Smith, Kristina Wright; Notre Dame Prep -- Jennifer Radebaugh; Oldfields -- Yoko Miyazawa; Mount Carmel -- Jennifer Huppert; Overlea -- Steven Lockett, Toni Williston; Owings Mills -- Marlin Matthews, Jennifer Thalheim; Park -- Katherine Richman; Parkville -- Terrick Alexander, Kathy Gaston; Patapsco -- Dane Taylorson, Nicole Blimline; Patterson -- Raymond Harris, Chanta Thompson; Perry Hall -- Roger Shunnarah, Chastin Crook; Pikesville -- Todd Weinstein, Darina Belfinova; Poly -- Joe Blanding, Jr., Sonja Johnson; Randallstown -- Tyrone Wells, Jr., LaNae Hill; Roland Park -- Melissa Bristow; Seton Keough -- Karen Petro; Severn -- Michael Fisher, Jennifer Wassif; Southern-B -- Damion Stukes; Southwestern -- Lawrence Chavious; Wendy Ward; Sparrows Point -- Philip Campitelli, Claire Iman; St. Mary's -- Ward Eichelberger, Kristine Manning; St. Paul's -- Renato Rotondo, Elizabeth Shugert; St. Timothy's -- Mimi Cook; Towson -- John Bruns, Martha Walker; Walbrook -- Bomani Ivy, Sheranda Palmer; Western -- Thetius Cotton; Woodlawn -- Mark Sye, Vera Rosebrough.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.