Coppin's Mitchell dismisses 2 players

April 28, 1992|By Jerry Bembry | Jerry Bembry,Staff Writer

Already faced with a tough rebuilding job for next season, Coppin State coach Fang Mitchell has decided not to renew the scholarships of two players, including one starter.

That starter was James Mazyck, a second-team Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference pick this past season, who with reserve guard Michael Johnson will not return next season.

"They were dismissed because of continuous disciplinary problems," Mitchell said yesterday. "I don't want to elaborate on it, but there were a whole lot of things that occurred this year."

Neither of the players could be reached for comment yesterday. Both will remain in school on scholarship through the end of the school year, Mitchell said.

Mazyck, who started at point guard and small forward last season as a sophomore and averaged 13.1 points, was suspended by Mitchell for five games in January for "disciplinary reasons." He returned to his starting role after the suspension and, in Coppin's loss to South Carolina State in the quarterfinals of the MEAC tournament, scored a game-high 25 points. Mazyck, a 6-foot-7 swingman from Hillside, N.J., was MEAC Rookie of the Year during the 1990-91 season when he started 19 games and averaged 6.8 points.

Johnson started his first 11 games as a sophomore when he averaged 5.5 points, but was a reserve for much of his just-completed junior year. The 6-foot-2 guard from Chester, Pa., averaged 5.6 points, but at times did not appear comfortable on the court.

The loss of Mazyck and Johnson leaves Mitchell with a big void to fill for next season. Just six scholarship players return for next season, with forward Tariq Saunders the only returning starter. Coppin, which finished 15-13 last season, has eight scholarships available. But the Eagles have yet to sign a player during the late signing period, which ends next month.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.