Serving 50 Years


April 19, 1992

Eight volunteers were honored for 50 years of service to the American Red Cross in Harford County.

Recognized were Patricia VanEvera, Josephine Dallam, Violet McLean, Lucille Wilson, Jane Appel, Heidi Fadeley, Lawrence G. Kaye and Fritz Hedman.

Together they have given more than 460 years of service to the American Red Cross.


Dr. Vinita Patanaphan is the medical director of The Oncology Center at Riverside, a new facility in Belcamp.

Patanaphan also is a clinical associate professor at the University of Maryland Medical System. She has a special interest in both intracavitary and interstitial radioactive implants.

Throughout her career, Patanaphan has published more than 40 articles and abstracts.

She is a member of the American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology, the American College of Radiology, the Maryland Radiological Society, the American society of Clinical Oncology, and the American Radium Society.



Medical director at oncology center


Sharon Ann Asselin, 10, and Dustin Metz, 12, have been selected as finalists in the 1992 Miss Maryland Pre-Teen Pageant, scheduled for June in Timonium.

Miss Maryland National Pre-Teen is the official state pageant for the Miss National Pre-Teen, which will take place in November in Florida.

Sharon, the daughter of Suzanne and Michael Asselin of Bel Air, is a student at Homestead-Wakefield Elementary School, where she plays the clarinet in the school band and sings in the chorus. Her hobbies include horseback riding, collecting Breyer horses, baton twirling and skating.

Dustin, the daughter of Debbie and Donald Metz of Fallston, attends Mountain Christian School in Joppa. She is a member of the school chorus, a cheerleader and a class representative to the Student Government Association. She also is active in the youth group at Mountain Christian. Her hobbies include swimming, dancing, piano and theater.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.