Mount Airy's Fandell Is Runner-up In Winston Race


April 12, 1992|By Staff report

Brian Fandell of Mount Airy was runner-up Sunday in the Winston Invitational at Rockingham, N.C., in the Super Comp class for motorcycles. Tim Peters, driving the Peters & Combs Dragster, made it to the second round before losing a close race.

Peters was joined by Westminster residents Lee Howe, Todd Harris and David McCarthy, who all wentout in the first round.

In other auto racing news:

* Jim Fleming of Union Bridge won the Class I and Top Dog title over Class II winner George Owens. Ray Lewis of Woodbine and Larry Mayne of Mount Airy reached the semifinal round in Class I. In Class II, Mike Hoff and Rick Waxter, both of Westminster, and Scott Lowman of Woodbine reached the semifinals.

* Gary Stuhler of Westminster won $4,000 in the 50-lap late-model feature for his 46th career win at Hagerstown Speedway. Charlie Schaffer ofHampstead was seventh in the same race. Jesse Wentz of Manchester won the sprint car consolation race.

* Jeff Shepard of Woodbine was ninth in the 30-lap Jack Gunn Memorial for super sprints Sunday at Williams Grove Speedway.

* Mike Stull and Joe Brown of Westminster both won heat races on Sunday at Trail-Way Speedway in the season's first micro sprint feature. Stull was defending track champion until Kevin Gobrecht unseated him.



* Mason-Dixon Dragway, Hagerstown: Super Comp 8.90 plus Points Race. (301) 791-5193.


* Hagerstown Speedway, Hagerstown: Late model twin 20-lap features, limited late models; gates open at 5 p.m., racing starts at 7:30. (301) 582-0640.

* Lincoln Speedway, Hanover, Pa.: Sprints, semi-lates and thundercars; gates open at 5:30 p.m., racing starts at 7:30. (717) 624-2755.

Next Sunday

* Susquehanna Speedway, Newberrytown Pa.: Super sprints, late models and thundercars; racing starts at 7 p.m. (717) 938-9170.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.