Old Mill Athletes Distinguished For Academics

April 09, 1992

Ninety-one students from Old Mill High School have been designated as recipients of the statewide Minds in Motion Award by the Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association.

This number represents 40 percent of the athletes involved in the winter sports season. This program is designed to recognize individual participants in MPSSAA activities who excel academically.

To earn this honor, students must maintain at least a 3.25 grade-point average during the sports season in which they compete. Varsity, junior varsity and freshman team members competing in officially sanctioned MPSSAA sports are eligible to receive this award.

Minds in Motion Award winners were:

Basketball teams: Christine Baer, Julie Bender, Mindy Caplan, Anne Chicorelli, Amy D'Annuzio, Dana Dawson,Debbie Dawson, Keri Eland, Stacey Himes, Nicole Kelly, Lee Ann Lezzer, Allison Wentworth, Tim Gentry, Brent Harris, Jeff Lefever, Andrew Lewis, Mike Longazel, Ashan Nelson, Bryan Nosel, Todd Singleton and Steve Smith.

Wrestling team: John Bliss, Ernie Longazel, Chip Moenius, Shawn Radford, Kevin Seavey, Kenneth Seavey and Will Willington.

Cheerleading squad: Jennifer Arnold, Theresa Bartholomew, JenniferClark, Kori Cornelius, Kara Cortina, Amanda Hoover, Monica Kratz, Susan Park, Rebecca Purpura, Mary Santora, Nicole Schmacher and ChandraWaddell.

Indoor track: Chris Afdahl, Brad Boetig, Dave Cavannaugh, Summer Dausch, Jessica Davis, Raina Domneys, Julie Drapalski, Meghan Emery, Kelly Fincher, Lisa Galloicchio, Eric Gifford, Melissa Gowing, Erica Haley, Karl Homberson, Tiffany Jones, Tracey Jones, Carrie Leavy, Chris Lewin, Vanessa Lincoln, Angela Lind, Nickie Matters, Andrea Melocik, Martise Moore, Matt Murray, Bryan O'Neill, Jenny Porter, Marisa Sanders, Missy Sarna, Michelle Smith, Nicole Stefanelli, Amy Tolley, Jeannine Volcjak, Colleen Wade, Cindy Williams, Kim Wimbrow, Krishna Wimbrow, Lori Wimbrow, Lori Wimbrow, Heather Wright and Chris Yurwitz.

Pom squad: Katie Baker, Keri Carter, Mona Hlavinka, Tara Hlavinka, Erin Killian, Lisa Parvis, Jennie Sheel, Terika Spark, Jen Stockett and Anne Marie Xenakis.


The followingSouth River winter athletes have been named to the Maryland Minds InMotion Scholar Athletic team for earning grade-point averages of 3.33 or better:

* John Dawson, Joni Jacobs, Christine Burke, Karas Hutchinson, Jaime Melton, Laura Kirk, Marisa Powers, Tanya Green, TammyHodges, Carrie Moreland, Kim Airey, Sandy Luckett, Elizabeth Colacicco, Tracy Zettle, Paula McDonald, Jennifer Buck, Stacey Thomas, Jennifer Taylor, Carrie Marusich, Shannon Burchell, Lisa Curry, Christopher Love, David Neall, William Dehn, Matthew King, Paul Disney, Jason Fullmer and Robert Randall.

Receiving special recognition were Elizabeth Wilson, Christine Watt, Shannon Leib, Colin Smith, Richard Emge, Erin Moorcones and William Chang.


The following South RiverHigh School athletes achieved a 3.0 grade-point average or better during the winter sports season:

* Boys basketball -- Jon Bolster, Albert Lee, Jason Fullmer, Robert Randall, John Henry, Phillip Monagliano, Thomas Terry and Lee Tillman.

* Wrestling -- Travis Murdock, Robert Ogan, Christopher Love, David Neall, William Dehn, Matthew King and Paul Disney.

* Girls basketball -- Lisa Curry, Shannon Burchell, Megan Riley, Carrie Marusich, Jennifer Taylor, Stacey Thomas, Jennifer Buck, Cassidy Dunbar, Paula McDonald, Pamela Patterson and Tracy Zettle.

* Cheerleading -- Tanya Green, Tammy Hodges, Carrie Moreland, Christine Watt, Kim Airey, Jennifer Walls, Shannon Leib, SandyLuckett, Lindsay Norton, Stacy Phipps, Elizabeth Holtzman, ElizabethWilson, Jessica Ditmars, Missy Henderson, Marisa Powers, Shelley Spaulding, Laura Kirk and Elizabeth Colacicco.

* Indoor track -- JohnDawson, K.C. Palmer, Colin Smith, Joni Jacobs, Christine Burke, Richard Emge, Daniel Zamarripa, Erin Moorcones, Carrie Huber, William Chang, Kara Hutchinson, and Jaime Melton.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.