Aberdeen Set For May Election

April 05, 1992

Aberdeen's first election under a new city form of government May 5 finds Town Commissioners George J. Englesson and Ruth Elliott squaring off in the race for mayor and eight hopefuls vying for two city council seats. The deadline to file for the race was Friday.

Englesson has been mayor since 1987, an honorary title awarded by the five-member board of commissioners. Elliott has been on the board since 1982.

Under the new Aberdeen city charter, approved last December as the community neared its 100th birthday this year, the mayor will have limited executive powers. Among them: the right to propose the budgetand to appoint and dismiss department heads.

The mayor will act as liaison between the council and the city administrator, who oversees the 100 employees serving the city of 13,000 residents.

The new city council has four members, elected for two-year terms.

Incumbent commissioners Macon Tucker and Ronald Kupferman will serve on the council until 1993.

Two council members will be elected to fill seats vacated by Evelyn Becker, Englesson and Elliott.

Candidates filing to run for council seats are: John Bailiff, William C. Benjamin Jr., Charles R. Boutin, DeWayne Curry, Edward Donald, John Feroli, Janice Grant and Earl Kelly.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.