LSU's O'Neal to skip final year

April 04, 1992

All-America center Shaquille O'Neal, saying he had as much fun as he could in college basketball, announced yesterday that he was forgoing his senior year at Louisiana State to enter the NBA draft.

O'Neal averaged 24.1 points, 14.0 rebounds and 5.2 blocked shots this season.

Kosiorek honored

West Virginia senior guard Rosemary Kosiorek (Mercy) was named to the 10-member Kodak Women's All-America Basketball team, selected annually on the eve of the NCAA Women's Final Four by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association

Laettner gets Rupp Award

Duke center Christian Laettner was named winner of the Adolph Rupp Award as The Associated Press College Basketball Player of the Year. Laettner finished ahead of O'Neal, the 1991 winner. Ohio State's Jim Jackson and Southern Cal's Harold Miner were third and fourth, respectively.

Kansas' Williams top coach

Kansas' Roy Williams was named Associated Press Coach of the Year in the closest balloting ever. Williams totaled 129 points, beating Nevada-Las Vegas' Jerry Tarkanian, who had 117. Duke's Mike Krzyzewski was third with 116.

Christie stars

Doug Christie of Pepperdine followed a victory in the slam-dunk contest with the MVP award in the annual NABC Collegiate All-Star Game in Minneapolis. Christie, a 6-foot-6 forward, had 16 points, five rebounds and three assists as his West team beat the East, 117-93.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.