Technology Students Win 13 Medals At Skills Contest

April 01, 1992

Howard School of Technology students won six first-place awards, four second-place honors and three third-place awards in the Vocational Industrial Clubs of America statewide skill olympics last weekend.

First-place winners become eligible to compete at VICA's national convention in Louisville, Ky., in June. Howard cosmetology student Christy Dexter will also go to the national event as one of five voting delegates chosen by Maryland students to represent them at the convention.

Chip Harris, state VICA director, said he was pleased that the awards this year "were spread out across the state." Students from Carroll and Howard counties again took home the largest numbers of awards, but didn't dominate as overwhelmingly as in the past, he said.

First-place winners from Howard are: Tammy Nuse, commercial art student, for job interview; Jenny Myers, drafting student, for architectural design; David Byerly, drafting student, for computer-aided design; Jason Hedges, culinary arts student, for commercial baking; Thomas Schwartz, diesel mechanics; Debbie Rackley, medical assisting.

Second-place awards went to: James Frantz, commercial art student, for advertising design; Danny Thomson, electronics student, for electronics product service; Neil White, electronics student, for electronics technology; Shawn Raymore, cosmetology student, for job skills demonstration.

Third-place winners: Josh Wise, culinary arts; Johnny Good, carpentry student, for home improvement; Chasity Whitt, cosmetology student, for job-skills demonstration.

The Carroll County Career and Technology Center "always provides us with good competition, but wefeel we carried our share (of awards). I was very pleased with the turnout," said Wayne Ridgeway, VICA adviser at the School of Technology.

The Carroll students won 14 first-place, eight second- and three third-place medals.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.