Road-weary Skipjacks take it on chin again

March 20, 1992|By Special to The Evening Sun

FREDERICTON, New Brunswick -- The Skipjacks didn't even have the strength to bail as they continued to flounder in the Atlantic yesterday.

The Fredericton Canadiens swamped the lethargic Skipjacks, 6-2, before 3,057 at the Aitken Centre. It was Baltimore's third loss in as many nights on its late-season swing through the AHL's Atlantic Division.

"We're trying our best and we're banged up really bad, that's all I can say," said Skipjacks coach Barry Trotz. "We're dead emotionally and physically. You can't play this game when you're dead in those two aspects.

"Guys are trying, it's just the tank is empty.

"We're in our fifth game in six nights and we've made 2,500 miles in travel and I had 11 healthy guys and nothing else."

The Canadiens scored twice in the first six minutes and went on to a 3-1 lead after 20 minutes and 5-1 through two periods.

"In the second period we gave Fredericton two gifts," said Trotz, talking about goals on giveaways in the Baltimore zone that sealed the Skipjacks' fate.

John Byce and Todd Hlushko provided the token resistance for the Skipjacks, who were outshot 37-30.

Trotz credited the Canadiens for the win.

"They are a good team out there. They play well," he said.

Baltimore sits last in the Southern Division with a 25-36-9 record, nine points behind the fourth-place Utica Devils with just nine games remaining, including three more on their Atlantic road trip. Trotz isn't giving up on the Skipjacks' playoff chances.

"Mathematically, it's possible. Utica's got to lose some games. They have been, but we just haven't been winning."

Trotz only had 11 healthy skaters as scratches included Jason Wooley, Richie Walcott and Steve Seftel while Bobby Babcock, Simon Wheeldon, Dennis Smith and Jeff Greenlaw were playing hurt.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.