Charles Town to simulcast Arcadia

March 07, 1992|By Special to The Sun

CHARLES TOWN, W. VA. — CHARLES TOWN, W.Va. -- The first event in the 1992 Starter Handicap Series-1 and a simulcast of the $150,000-added Arcadia Handicap highlight tonight's 11-race card at the Charles Town Races.

Racing secretary Richard Moore has assembled a field of six horses for the 10th-race starter handicap, headed by Hickory Made Stable's P.M. Spiff. P.M. Spiff posted a 1 1/2 -length victory against $25,000 claimers in his last start at Laurel and has been assigned top weight of 121 pounds.

P.M. Spiff's stiffest opposition is expected to come from Darryl Boyer's Baker T., winner of divisions of Tri-State and West Virginia futurities here last fall. Baker T. was soundly beaten in his last two starts at Garden State Park and Philadelphia Park, but should make a better showing over his home track and under a feathery impost of 110 pounds.

Completing the field in tonight's six and one-half furlong starter handicap are Coleswood Farm's Pour Moi, 115; Victor Espinosa's Sugar Roll Rock, 117; James Steele, Jr.'s Mouse Man, 117; and K. & W. Anderson's Mostly Irish, 117.

The winning horse in each race of the five-event series will be awarded five points, with three points to second, two points to third and one point to fourth. The trainer of the horse accumulating the most points during the series will receive a $500 cash bonus, with $250 to second, $150 to third and $100 to fourth.

The cash bonus awards are being donated by the public relations committee of the Horsemen's Benevolent and Protective Association.

The Arcadia Handicap, a mile turf test for four-year-olds and upward, will be simulcast from Santa Anita Park as Charles Town's third race. The favorite is Jhayare Stables' Itsallgreektome who came up a neck short in the Hialeah Turf Cup on January 5.

Post time for tonight's card is 6:30 p.m.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.