BASEBALL American League* BALTIMORE ORIOLES -- Signed Jose...


March 06, 1992

BASEBALL American League

* BALTIMORE ORIOLES -- Signed Jose Mesa, pitcher; Chito Martinez, outfielder; Juan Bell, infielder, and David Segui, infielder-outfielder.

* CHICAGO WHITE SOX -- Agreed to terms with Wayne Edwards, pitcher, and Esteban Beltre, shortstop, on one-year contracts.

* KANSAS CITY ROYALS -- Signed Kevin Appier, pitcher, to a one-year contract.

* MINNESOTA TWINS -- Signed Pedro Munoz, outfielder, to a one-year contract. Agreed to terms with Pat Mahomes, pitcher, on a one-year contract.

* NEW YORK YANKEES -- Acquired Francisco de la Rosa, pitcher, from the Baltimore Orioles as one of the players to be named later in the Alan Mills trade.

* OAKLAND ATHLETICS -- Extended the contract of Tony La Russa, manager, through the 1994 season. Released Eric Show, pitcher. Signed Joe Slusarski and Kirk Dressendorfer, pitchers, and Lance Blankenship, infielder, to one-year contracts. Renewed the contracts of Scott Brosius, infielder, and Doug Jennings, infielder-outfielder.

National League

* CINCINNATI REDS -- Announced that Victor Garcia, pitcher, has left the team to solve an immigration problem.

* HOUSTON ASTROS -- Agreed to terms with Ryan Bowen, Mike Capel, Chris Gardner, Darryl Kile, Curt Schilling and Brian

Williams, pitchers; Scott Servais, Eddie Taubensee, and Tony Eusebio, catchers; Jeff Bagwell, Andujar Cedeno, Gary Cooper and Andy Mota, infielders, and Luis Gonzalez and Karl Rhodes, outfielders.

* SAN DIEGO CHARGERS -- Signed Rich Rodriguez and Jose Melendez, pitchers; Guillermo Velasquez, first baseman, and Ray Holbert, shortstop. Renewed the contracts of Andy Benes, pitcher, and Jim Vatcher, outfielder.

* SAN FRANCISCO GIANTS -- Signed John Burkett and Francisco Oliveras, pitchers; Royce Clayton, infielder, and Steve Hosey, outfielder.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.