South African Grand Prix

March 02, 1992

JOHANNESBURG, South Africa -- Britain's Nigel Mansell led all the way and Italian teammate Riccardo Patrese finished second as the new Williams-Renault cars dominated the first race on the 1992 circuit.

Mansell, who had won the previous Formula One event in South Africa in 1985, opened a huge lead in the early stages of the race and never was challenged.

He covered 72 laps on the 2.64-mile Kyalami race track in 1 hour, 36 minutes, 45.320 seconds.

Mansell's archrival, world champion Ayrton Senna of Brazil, was third in a McLaren-Honda, and Michael Schumacher of Germany was fourth in a Benetton-Ford.

Mansell and Patrese, in the 1992 Williams-Renault cars with a new computer-controlled suspension system, appeared to have a clear advantage over Senna, who still is racing a 1991 model McLaren-Honda.

Mansell had the quickest qualifying times Friday and Saturday, and Senna said he lacked the power to contend with the new Williams cars.

The tight corners and short straights on the newly renovated Kyalami track made passing difficult, but no one got close enough to Mansell to try.

After 36 laps, the halfway mark in the race, Mansell led by more than 24 seconds on the second-place Patrese, who was almost four seconds faster than Senna.

Patrese, who started in the fourth position, passed Senna, in the second spot, in the first corner of the race and the Italian never relinquished second place.

1. Nigel Mansell, Williams-Renault, 72 laps, 1 hour, 36 minutes, 45.320 seconds, 118.215 mph. 2. Riccardo Patrese, Williams-Renault, 72, 24.360 seconds behind. 3. Ayrton Senna, McLaren-Honda, 72, 34.675 seconds behind. 4. Michael Schumacher, Benetton-Ford, 72, 47.863 seconds behind. 5. Gerhard Berger, McLaren-Honda, 72, 1 minute, 13.634 seconds behind. 6. Johnny Herbert, Lotus-Ford, 72, 1 lap behind. 7. Erik Comas, Ligier-Renault, 72, 1 lap behind. 8. Aguri Suzuki, Footwork Mugen-Honda, 72, 2 laps behind. 9. Mika Hakkinen, Lotus-Ford, 72, 2 laps behind. 10. Michele Alboreto, Footwork Mugen-Honda, 72, 2 laps behind.

11. Mauricio Gugelmin, Jordan-Yamaha, 72, 2 laps behind. 12. Ukyo Katayama, Venturi-Lamborghini, 72, 4 laps behind. 13. Eric van de Poele, Brabham-Judd, 72, 4 laps behind. 14. Olivier Grouillard, Tyrrell-Ilmor, 62 laps completed, car breakdown. 15. Thierry Boutsen, Ligier-Renault, 60 laps completed, car breakdown. 16. Pierluigi Martini, Dallaa-Ferrari, 56 laps completed, car breakdown. 17. Gianni Morbidelli, Minardi-Lamborghini, 55 laps completed, car breakdown. 18. J.J. Lehto, Dallara-Ferrari, 46 laps completed, car breakdown. 19. Christian Fittipaldi, Minardi-Lamborghini, 43 laps completed, car breakdown. 20. Andrea de Cesaris, Tyrrell-Ilmor, 41 laps completed, car breakdown.

21. Jean Alesi, Ferrari, 40 laps completed, car breakdown. 22. Ivan Capelli, Ferrari, 28 laps completed, car breakdown. 23. Gabriele Tarquini, Fondmetal-Ford, 23 laps completed, car breakdown. 24. Karl Wendlinger, March-Ilmor, 13 laps completed, car breakdown. 25. Bertrand Gachot, Venturi-Lamborghini, eight laps completed, car breakdown. 26. Martin Brundle, Benetton-Ford, 1 lap completed, car breakdown.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.