Dunbar's Booth to miss Classic

February 26, 1992

If No. 1 Dunbar is to defend its A Conference basketball championship in Sunday's Metro Classic at the Arena (7 p.m.), it must do so without standout junior forward Keith Booth.

Booth retaliated for an errant elbow in yesterday's Maryland Scholastic Association semifinal against Southern and drew an ejection for tossing the ball at Southern's Kevin Simpson. That youthful mistake merits an automatic one-game suspension.

Before his ejection, Booth had 12 points in yesterday's 69-54 victory, the 51st straight for the Poets (28-0). Senior guard Cyrus Jones led Dunbar with 20 points and Donta Bright added 18.

Dunbar will face Walbrook, 76-70 winner over Lake Clifton-Eastern in yesterday's other semifinal. The No. 5 Warriors (14-9) got 24 points and 10 rebounds from swing guard Eric Carroll and senior Jermaine Porter added 20 points.

Sunday's Metro Classic B Conference championship (1 p.m.) will be a rematch of last year as No. 8 Edmondson (14-4) challenges two-time Metro champ Carver (16-3). The No. 9 Bears defeated Edmondson last year, 67-43. Yesterday, Carver topped McDonogh, 71-62, while Edmondson was routing City, 111-78.

Carver was paced by Rodney Black's 29 points, 11 rebounds and three blocked shots and Michael Richardson added 18 points.

Edmondson was led by Maurice Blanding's 27 points and 12 rebounds. Devin Ross added 24 points.

Today's C Conference winners, St. Mary's or Severn and Archbishop Curley or St. Paul's, will tap off Sunday in the Arena at 5 p.m. following the girls Metro Classic contest at 3 p.m. between Walbrook, the City-Wide champion and St. Mary's, the Catholic League champion.

Elsewhere yesterday, Centennial (10-0) won the Maryland Scholastic Hockey League championship at the Capital Centre, tripping Mount St. Joseph (8-1-1), 6-3. Arthur McGreevy led the Eagles with three goals and two assists.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.