Jasper, Pyles end '91 on top in duckpins


December 29, 1991|By James H. Jackson

Diane Jasper of Laurel and Jeff Pyles of Hyattsville have been named Duckpin Bowlers of the Year by the National Duckpin Bowling Congress.

This is the fifth time that Jasper and the sixth time that Pyles have been earned this honor. Jasper led the nation's women bowlers with a 143.5 average in 229 league games and a 144.7 average in 156 tournament games for a composite average of 144.09. Theresa Pearson of Harwood was second, .262 pins in average behind. Bernadette Vece of Baltimore was third (141.5) and Adele Asimenios of Baltimore was fourth (140.7).

Jasper, 30, won the title four straight years until she finished second last year. Women to win the title six consecutive years are Lorraine Gulli (1928-34), Ida Simmons Slack (1935-41) and Pat Rinaldi (1977-83).

Pyles, 34, had a composite average of 155.4 in 523 games, 152.9 in 216 league games and 156.7 in 307 tournament games. He led the Baltimore Bowlers Association with a 156.6 average and the Washington Duckpin Association with a 153.2 average.

Clarence "Swede" Lavers of Stratford, Conn., was second with a 151.7 average, Scott Wolgamuth of College Park was third with 151.1, Mike Steinert of Baltimore was fourth with 150.5 and Eddie Darling of Glen Burnie was fifth with 150.3.

World record: James Baker established a single-game duckpin world record when he rolled a 272 games at Bowlarama Lanes in Virginia Beach, Va. Baker, 27, had 11 strikes, opening with eight strikes, getting a spare in the nine frame and striking out in the 10th.

Baker's 272 broke the world record of 269 rolled by Marty Knight of Baltimore, Jan. 20, 1988, Dale Long of Temple Hills, May 11, 1990 and Dave Kowalewski of Baltimore, Oct. 20, 1990. Baker's previous high game was 229.


She's No. 1: Elizabeth "Toots" Barger of Baltimore is tops in the all-time rankings of female duckpin bowlers with 13 first places in 28 years. Gulli is second with nine firsts in 22 years.

Jim Dietsch of Washington is first among the men with seven titles in 22 years, and Nick Tronsky of Kensington, Conn., is second with five firsts in 21 years.


Texas tenpins: Mark Bowers of Aberdeen, Joel Eiler of Baltimore and Tim Criss of Bel Air won money in the National Resident Pro Championship tenpin tournament in Corpus Christi, Texas.

Bowers won $335 for finishing 45th, Eiler won $323 for his 47th place finish and Criss took home $265 for finishing 59th.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.