Western shackles Graham Holly and Hoops

December 27, 1991|By Katherine Dunn | Katherine Dunn,Special to The Evening Sun PzB

To beat Woodlawn, Western coach Breezy Bishop knew one key would be stopping Erin Graham.

Graham, who leads the metro area in scoring, averaging 23.8 points, provides the punch for the No. 15 Warriors. But Western senior Sonya Jones held Graham to 11 points, as No. 2 Western cruised by Woodlawn, 68-25, in yesterday's Hoops Division semifinal of the Holly and Hoops Tournament at the University of Maryland Baltimore County.

Western will meet Seton Keough tomorrow night for the Hoops Division championship. Erin Welsh hit a short jumper with six seconds left to lead the Gators over Severna Park, 36-35.

The Mistletoe Division title game will feature a showdown between No. 8 IND and No. 12 Bryn Mawr. IND defeated Parkville, 34-11. Kisha Ford had 15 points and six assists to lead Bryn Mawr over Leonardtown, 50-32.

Two ranked teams also will meet for the Holly Division championship: No. 9 Walbrook and No. 11 Southern of Anne Arundel County.

Walbrook (4-1) struggled en route to a 64-58 victory over Governor Mifflin of Reading, Pa. Tabitha Chambers and Jamee Greewood each scored 18 and grabbed 13 rebounds for Walbrook, and Lakeisha Dukes scored 14.

Southern (4-1) got 16 points from Lindee Sisk and 12 from Talaya Barnett as the Bulldogs routed North Harford, 53-33. Carie James led North Harford with 14.

With Western putting Graham under wraps, the Warriors never got their offense going, committing 30 turnovers.

"We were nervous, but they just play really well," said Graham, a 5-7 senior guard. "They're a real team, and we have to learn to play like a team."

Western (6-1) started running away with the game in the second quarter. Against Western's man-to-man press, the Warriors (4-1) committed turnovers on their first 13 possessions.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.