Giys Outduels Ayc In Team Race


For Each Yacht Club, Three J/22s Do Battle

December 11, 1991|By Nancy Noyes

As part of a continually developing program of events in support of its year-old one-design J/22 fleet, the Annapolis Yacht Club challenged the Gibson Island Yacht Squadron to a team-race competition last Saturday.

The best-two-of-three regatta was contested by teams of three J/22s from each club, using short windward-leeward-windward courses near Annapolis in light and shifty 4- to 8-knot breezes. It was modeled in part after the traditional and long-standing GIYS/Sailing Club of the Chesapeake Race for the Broom event.

Racing for AYC were crews headed by skippers Rob Donald, Andy Hughes and Kip Koolage, while their GIYS counterparts were John White, John Sherwood and Rob Kyle.

The regatta was completed after only two races when the GIYS sailors bested the AYC team in straight sets.

"It was interesting," said Sherwood. "Of the top six positions it was possible to get in the two races combined, Gibson Island boats hadfive of them."

Sherwood won the first race, which he described asa very close and even contest, in which the Gibson Island sailors took the lead by successfully using classic team-racing tactics.

In team competition, which differs from fleet racing in its unique tactical approaches, the sum of each team's scores are added together to determine the winners of the match. So each skipper's goal is not necessarily to win personally, but rather to prevent the other team from scoring well.

Competitors in a team race often can be seen sailingopposing team members out beyond the layline or sacrificing their own finish positions to block members of the opposition and delay them from finishing to allow members of their own team to finish ahead.

"Rob Donald got off very clean at the start," Sherwood said. "He gotin front and led all the way until the last 100 yards or so. He sailed very well."

GIYS sailors Sherwood and White managed to close onDonald on the downwind leg. But it was not until White took Donald up above the finish line after a tacking duel up the final beat, leaving Sherwood clear to get the gun before turning back to finish secondahead of Donald, that the Gibson Island victory was established.

The second race, Sherwood said, "was over early -- virtually from thestart."

While Sherwood enjoyed a perfect pin-end start, White forced Donald up, taking him above the starting line.

"John was able to drop back to start clean pretty quickly afterward," Sherwood explained, "but Rob had difficulty getting back to the line, and trailed the fleet from then on. Rob Kyle took Kip Koolage out to the port-tacklayline, which was where the breeze was, but (Kyle) had (Koolage) pinned so he couldn't tack, and I tacked on Hughes. At the first mark Gibson Island boats were 1-2-3, and that was it, that was the game. All three Gibson Island boats finished 1-2-3."

"We (the AYC sailors)obviously didn't have the experience in team racing that they do," said Art Libby, AYC's one-design fleet captain, who crewed with Donald. "But it was a good regatta, and AYC did a great job with the race committee and the hospitality."


The Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association's Annual General Meeting on Saturday at Gibson Island was an occasion to recognize those who have made important contributions to the organization and its goals.

Receiving the President's Award from CBYRA President David Blessing was Annapolitan Marcia Grosvenor.

Established in 1984, the President's Award is CBYRA's highestnon-racing honor, presented to individuals who during the year, or over a long period of time, have distinguished themselves in volunteeractivities leading to the betterment of the organization and its services to members.

Grosvenor was honored for her tireless efforts toward production of the 1991 Yearbook in addition to the many other contributions she has made over the years.

Special Appreciation Awards went to Severn Sailing Association's Resident Manager Ridge Gardner for outstanding overall one-design race management; to Jude Brown and Bob Mewhinney for their efforts in organizing and managing the Chesapeake Olympic Classes Regatta last May; to Marty Kiely for his efforts in producing CBYRA's monthly newsletter "The Traveler"; to CBYRAOne-Design Division Representative Steve Kling for his efforts to continue promotion of and service to one-design sailors and events; andto Annapolis Race Week Shoreside Chairman Bob Jett and On-Water Chairman Mark Murphy for their work in coordinating this year's successful event in September.

Race Committees of the Year also were announced.

For a championship event, the honoree was the Fishing Bay Yacht Club in Deltaville, Va., for its MORC International Championship Regatta.

Recognized for the year's top one-design event was the Tred Avon Yacht Club in Oxford for its Fall Windup Regatta.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.