Shields Joins Board

Names in the news

December 08, 1991

WESTMINSTER — Joseph F. Shields, executive director of Carroll Community College, has been appointed to a three-year term on the Board of Directors at Carroll Haven, a private, non-profit organization for adults with severe developmental disabilities.

"Having raised a daughter who has been hearing-impaired since birth, I know the frustration involved innot knowing where to go to get answers," said Shields of his interest in Carroll Haven.

As a board member, he will be able to help other parents who findthemselves in a similar situation, and work with county agencies andbusinesses to provide information and services to the developmentally disabled and their families.

Carroll Haven, founded in 1969, recently opened a new facility on Bishop Street.



WESTMINSTER -- Carroll Community College art professor Irby Cole has received the 1992 "National Institute for Staffand Organizational Development Excellence Award" in recognition of his outstanding contributions to teaching and learning.

NISOD, based in the Department of Educational Administration, College of Education, the University of Texas at Austin, celebrates excellence in teaching and leadership through its annual conference, which attracts morethan 1,000 teachers and administrators each year.

Cole will receive a medallion in a ceremony at the NISOD conference in May.

Cole received the Outstanding Teacher Award from CCC last spring. His workon the campus includes putting together the Student, Faculty and Alumni Art Show last fall and initiating the Arts Club.

He has servedon the Arts Council board as both president and representative and was responsible for creating the Children's Arts Education ScholarshipProgram.

He also was a key planner in setting up the Kids' College, a cooperative venture between CCC and the Arts Council.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.