. Firefighters End Course


December 08, 1991

Thirteen firefighters of the Bel Air Volunteer Fire Company recentlycompleted more than 100 hours of fire essentials training with the Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute.

Those completing the training were Rick Woodward, Joe Rutherford, Missy Orsburn, Chris Zimmerman, Richard Gardiner, Ed Miller, Steve Bittner, Eric Britton, Scott Panowicz, Matt Hill, John Eid, Darren Williams and Dave Gent. They were instructed by John Petrovic and Jon Gift.


The Joppatowne Civic Association elected officers for 1992 at itsNov. 25 meeting.

They are Fran Salbeck, president; Mel Soles, vice president; Steve Rapley, recording secretary, and Beverly Kott, treasurer.

Members of the board of directors are Bob Dillon, Mitsuya Sasajima, Nick Fiore, Krist Boardman and Mercedes Samborsky.


Gerard H. Denoncourt and Donald E. Moretz, employees of the U.S. Army Chemical Research, Development and Engineering Centerat Aberdeen Proving Ground, were presented with meritorious service medals for their support of a chemical munitions move from Germany.


Employees of the U.S. Army Chemical Research, Development and Engineering Center's Research Directorate were honored for their contributions.

Receiving performance awards were Johnnie Albizo, Burt Bronk, Ann Brozena, James Buchanan, Leonard Buettner, Tu-Chen Cheng, Joseph DeFrank, Paul Fedele and Paul Grasso.

Also recognized were Fu-Lian Hsu, James King, John Mahle, James Manthei, Merrill Milham, Thaddeus Novak, Dorothea Paterno, Elwin Penski, Sharon Reutter, Linda Szafraniec, Roy Thompson, John White and Sheila Wood.

Donald Bowie, Harold Klapper and Lynn Moratis received special act awards. Promoted were James Buchanan, Nancy Chester, James Jensen, Sharon Reutter and Christopher Whalley.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.