Hcc Has 17 In Phi Theta


December 01, 1991

Seventeen area resident Howard Community College students were inducted into the Alpha Alpha Sigma chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

To be considered for election to the national junior college academic honorary society, a student must complete at least one semester of full-time study and maintain an overall grade-point averageof 3.25.

Columbia residents John Jordan, Jr., Carolyn Schultz, Belinda Siperko, Robert McCausland, Paula Bickman, Viola Weiss, Jonathan Cohen, Beverly Speed, Terry Karp and Carol Stover were inducted.

EllicottCity residents inducted were Julia Godfrey, William Warren, James Rauscher, Donna Strohmer, Elizabeth Beatson, Kathleen Rigby and Eva Munder.


The National Multiple Sclerosis Society, Maryland chapter, named Jane L. Hurley of Columbia as the Tri-County "Branch Volunteer of the Year."

Hurley, a member of the branch council, is a Read-A-Thon presenter, Super Cities Walk-Walker, distributor and registration helper, a Valentine's gift wrap booth wrapper, and a Shape-Up supporter and Merriweather Concert promoter -- all for multiple sclerosis.


Three Ellicott Cityresidents have been elected to Seton Keough's chapter of the National Honor Society.

Juniors Dana Howes and Kathleen Kelly, and sophomore Kerry Nedzel will be inducted formally into the society on Dec. 10 at the school.


Kiriam Brooks, A Howard Community College sophomore accounting major, was selected at the first recipient of the Leadership Scholarship.

The scholarship was set upby Leadership Howard County's Class of 1990 to provide tuition to a deserving student enrolled at the Howard Community College who would agree to spend some time working with a non-profit agency in the county.

Brooks is a volunteer with the Foreign-Born Information and Referral Network.


Heather Eileen Jones, 18, daughter of Fred and Sharon Robinson of Ellicott City, is a recipient of two four-year scholarships from Salisbury State University.

She was awarded the $4,000 Fulton School of Liberal Arts Scholarship and the full-tuition Presidential Scholarship. Both are awards based on her academic performance in high school and the Scholastic Aptitude Test.

Jones is a 1991 Centennial High School graduate.


Kristie Snyder, of Woodbine, signed a national letter of intent with Oregon State University for a full gymnastics scholarship.

Oregon State, coached by Jim Turpin, placed fourth at the 1991 NCAA gymnastics championships.

Snyder, a senior at Glenelg High School, is a member if the National Honor Society with a 4.0 gradepoint average.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.