Lipka climbs up Essex ladder, only to fall rung short to Lavers

November 17, 1991|By James H. Jackson

Swede Lavers from Stratford, Conn., the No. 1 seed, won the $5,000 first prize in the Duckpin Professional Bowlers Association Masters Tournament held last weekend at Fair Lanes Middlesex in Essex.

Mike Stinert of Middle River was named Bowler of the Year.


Becky Nusbaum of Woodsboro set a pair of world records in the Women's National Duckpin Association's recent national championship tournament at Fair Lanes Owings Mills.

Nusbaum set records for seven-game and 12-game sets during the tournament, but did not win the championship. Nusbaum, who finished in third place and won $700, knocked down 1,105 pins in seven games, breaking the record Ethel Hinson Williams of Baltimore set Nov. 6, 1977, by one pin. She also got 1,861 pins in 12 games, breaking the record of 1,806 set by Ronnie Schwarzkopf of Catonsville on May 14, 1983.

In up-the-ladder matches, Nusbaum defeated Corinne Jones of Baltimore, 126-97, Theresa Pearson of Harwood, 185-117, Sharon Hartley of Baltimore, 148-140, Pat Loomis of Baltimore, 171-158, Linda Goewisch of Baltimore, 167-124, and Dianne Jasper of Laurel, 169-135, before losing to Betty Byrum of Riverdale, 141-117.

Byrum proceeded to lose in the championship game to top-seeded Kathy Boswell of North Kingston, R.I., 151-139. Boswell won the top prize of $2,000, Byrum earned $1,000 and Jasper won $400.


Fair Lanes will usher in the 1992 area tenpin season with the

annual New Year's Open on Jan. 1 at the Towson Lanes. Squad times are 11 a.m., 2:30 p.m., 6 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.

The six-game tournament is open to men and women with total scratch pin fall determining the winner. Top prize will be worth $1,000 with $500 for second and $300 for third. Joe Hock Jr. of Glen Burnie is the defending champion. For more information, call (410) 825-4100.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.