Top seed Lavers rolls to Essex duckpin title

November 17, 1991|By James H. Jackson

Swede Lavers from Stratford, Conn., the No. 1 seed, won the $5,000 first prize in the Duckpin Professional Bowlers Association Masters Tournament held last weekend at Fair Lanes Middlesex in Essex.

Lavers, posting his 10th career DPBA tour victory, defeated Larry Lipka, 154-146, in the championship match. Lipka, who began the up-the-ladder matches in fourth place, earned $2,500 for finishing second. Lipka, from Baltimore, defeated Rick Hicks of East Providence, R.I., 170-130, and John Schramm of Baltimore, 142-116. Schramm won $1,600 and Hicks won $1,000.

In the first of the final five matches, Hicks defeated Joe Holbrook of Baltimore, 135-134. Holbrook won $900.

A total of 151 bowlers participated in the two-day tournament with 16 bowling 200 games. Wink Bartley had a high game of 225, followed by Doug Shipley of Baltimore with 223. Joe Oliver of Providence, R.I., rolled 1,689 for the high set during the 10-game qualifier.

Mike Stinert of Middle River was named Bowler of the Year.

* Becky Nusbaum of Woodsboro set a pair of world records in the Women's National Duckpin Association's recent national championship tournament at Fair Lanes Owings Mills.

Nusbaum set records for seven-game and 12-game sets during the tournament, but did not win the championship. Nusbaum, who finished in third place and won $700 knocked down 1,105 ZTC pins in seven games, breaking the record Ethel Hinson Williams of Baltimore set Nov. 6, 1977 by one pin. She also got 1,861 pins in 12 games, breaking the record of 1,806 set by Ronnie Schwarzkopf of Catonsville on May 14, 1983.

In up-the-ladder matches, Nusbaum defeated Corinne Jones of Baltimore, 126-97, Theresa Pearson of Harwood, 185-117, Sharon Hartley of Baltimore, 148-140, Pat Loomis of Baltimore, 171-158, Linda Goewisch of Baltimore, 167-124, and Dianne Jasper of Laurel, 169-135, before losing to Betty Byrum of Riverdale, 141-117.

Byrum proceeded to lose in the championship game to top-seeded Kathy Boswell of North Kingston, R.I., 151-139. Boswell won the top prize of $2,000, Byrum earned $1,000 and Jasper won $400.

* Fair Lanes will usher in the 1992 area tenpin season with the

annual New Year's Open on Jan. 1 at the Towson Lanes. Squad times are 11 a.m., 2:30 p.m., 6 p.m. and 9:30 p.m.

The six-game tournament is open to man and women with total scratch pin fall determining the winner. Top prize will be worth $1,000 with $500 for second and $300 for third. Joe Hock Jr., of Glen Burnie is the defending champion. For more information, call (401) 825-4100)

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.