Q. I've often wondered how a relief pitcher earned a save.
T. J. Totushek
A. The word "earned," of course, is a relative one. Does Johnny Carson "earn" his $385 kazillion-per-year salary? Will Glenn Davis "earn" his $2.8 million next season if he is reinjured? Does the person writing this "earn" a salary from The Sun for so little work? (On second thought, let's back up to Johnny Carson.) Anyway, here is the save rule -- adopted in 1975 -- as cited in the Baltimore Orioles media guide:
"Credit a pitcher with a save when he is the finishing, but not the winning pitcher, and when he qualifies under one of the following conditions: