In face of shortfall, community college tuitions to soar

November 14, 1991|By Dennis O'Brien | Dennis O'Brien,Baltimore County Bureau of The Sun

In a contentious session, the Baltimore County Community College Board of Trustees voted last night to raise tuition to $48 per credit, a 23 percent increase.

The $9 increase, to apply to county residents among the system's 28,000 students, will become effective next semester.

It was passed by a board struggling with an $8.8 million shortfall in the county's community college system, stemming from the $450 million state deficit-reduction package approved last month by the Board of Public Works.

Tuition for out-of-county residents will jump from $74 per credit to $91, and for out-of-state students from $123 per credit to $151.

The board also approved a $5 first-time student registration fee and a $20 fee for senior citizens who take courses for credit.

Its actions are expected to raise a $1.9 million for the four community colleges under its oversight: Essex, Catonsville and Dundalk, and the Carroll County Community College, which is run as a branch of Catonsville.

The board's 8-2 vote came on a compromise measure after alternative proposals -- one that would have raised tuition by $11, another that would have raised it by $7 -- were debated and defeated.

Students disagreed about whether the increase was fair, but agreed that state cuts will hurt their schools.

"This is a stone that's going to roll downhill and do a lot of damage," said Fred Bartlett Jr., a second-year student at Catonsville Community College who was one of a half-dozen Student Government Association representatives from Catonsville at the session.

He noted that the SGA has been asked by the school's administration to contribute $6,500 toward its tutoring service. "Anyone who tells you there isn't going to be any programs or services cut is just lying," he said.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.