Player of Year battle to be decided in MAPGA tourney


November 10, 1991|By John Stewart

The annual Player of the Year honor will be decided this week when the Middle Atlantic PGA holds its 46th annual match-play championship at Woodmont Country Club in Rockville. Play will be over the club's South Course.

A qualifying round tomorrow will reduce the 44 entries to a flight of 16 for double rounds Tuesday and Wednesday, with the final match listed for 18 holes.

The player race has boiled down to a three-way struggle among Bruce Lehnhard, head professional at Lake of the Woods Country Club in Locust Grove, Va.; Mike West, assistant professional at Farmington CC in Charlottesville, Va.; and Bob Boyd, Woodmont's head professional who will be making his final MAPGA appearance before leaving for his new position at the Melrose Club on Daufuskie Island, S.C.

Lehnhard, the 1982 titlist and most recent champion entered, has 351.16 points, followed by West (323.50) and Boyd (316.50). The match-play champion will earn 72 points; the runner-up 42 points; semifinal losers, 33 points; quarterfinal losers, 21 points; and first-round losers, nine points.


Wayne Holley of Roanoke, Va., heads the new slate of officers elected at last week's MAPGA meeting at Fredericksburg (Va.) CC.

The others are Robert Fretwell, head professional, Old South CC, Lothian, vice president; and Mike Ahrnsbrak, head professional, Shenandoah Valley GC, Front Royal, Va.

Holley, 49, is a Roanoke native who has been in the golf game for some 25 years. He was an assistant at the Burning Tree Club in Bethesda, before going to Roanoke CC as an assistant professional, and later head pro, a position he held for 22 years.

Over the years, he has been a member of practically every section committee, and has served on the executive committee since 1987, first as secretary, and more recently as vice president. In his new post as leader of the 463-member section, he succeeds Rod Thompson of Kenwood CC.

Winners of the major MAPGA events were recognized, along with the players of the month, and all received suitable awards. The monthly honors went to John McNaney, Mike McGinnis, Jim Estes, Jon Stanley, Lehnhard (twice) and Al Green.

Gary Schaal, of Myrtle Beach, S.C., vice president of the PGA of America, was a guest of the section and made a few brief remarks.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.