Six to enter lacrosse 'hall'

November 08, 1991|By Doug Brown | Doug Brown,Evening Sun Staff

Syracuse coach Roy Simmons Jr. and Frank Urso, a four-time first team All-America player at Maryland, and four other former stars will be inducted into the Lacrosse Hall of Fame Feb. 8 in a ceremony at the Sheraton Towson Hotel.

The other four are Don Albertson, Ted Bauer, Mike French and Dick Kowalchuk. The new inductees will bring the total number of members to 194 since the inception of the Hall in 1957.

Simmons was an honorable mention All-America at Syracuse in 1957-58 and was the second leading scorer behind Hall of Famer Jim Brown on the Orange's national championship team in 1957. Syracuse's head coach since 1970, Simmons is the only coach who has won four NCAA Division I championships, the most recent in 1990.

Urso is one of only four players in college lacrosse history to achieve first-team All-America four times, from 1973-76 with the Terps. The others are Johns Hopkins' Doug Turnbull and Del Dressel and St. John's Everett Smith. Urso, Division I's outstanding player in 1975, becomes Maryland's 25th inductee.

Albertson was a three-time first team All-America at Navy from 1924-26. He is the academy's eighth inductee.

Bauer, a three-time first team All-America at Washington & Lee from 1972-74, played for the U.S. team in the 1974 World Games.

French, a first team All-America attackman, was NCAA Division I's Player of the Year when Cornell won the national title in 1976. He set the Division I all-time career record with 296 points in three years. Kowalchuk was a three-time first team All-America and a member of Johns Hopkins' national championship team in 1974.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.