Hall of Fame adds 6, including Urso LACROSSE

November 08, 1991|By James H. Jackson

Six new members have been elected to the Lacrosse Hall of Fame, one posthumously, bringing the number of inductees in the Hall to 194 since its inception in 1957.

Among the new members are Syracuse head coach Roy Simmons, Jr.; Rich Kowalchuk, from Johns Hopkins; Frank Urso, a four-time All-American at Maryland; Mike French, from Cornell; and Ted Bauer, a three-time All-American at Washington & Lee.

Donald G. Albertson, the posthumous inductee, was a first-team All-American at Navy in 1924, 1925 and 1926. Formal induction ceremonies will be Feb. 8 at the Sheraton Towson Hotel. (For ticket information, call 235-6882.)

"It sort of numbs me to be among such giants of the game I love," said Simmons, who has been head coach at Syracuse since 1970, taking over from his father, who is also a member of the Hall of Fame.

Under Simmons, Syracuse has won national champions in 1983, 1988, 1989 and 1990. Simmons also was a two-time All-American for the Orangemen and played on the 1957 lacrosse national championship team.

Kowalchuk, an All-American midfielder for Hopkins in 1972, 1973 and 1974, played on the Blue Jays national champions in 1974.

Urso was one of four four-time first-team All-Americans. He was a midfielder on the Maryland championship teams in 1973 and 1975. French, a native of Canada, was a three-year All-American at attack and led Cornell to the national championship in 1976, beating Maryland in overtime in the title game.

Bauer, now the chief selector for the All-America lacrosse teams, was a first-team All-America midfielder for the Generals in 1972, 1973 and 1974.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.