10 banks commit more than $3 million to Coppin Heights revitalization plan


November 03, 1991|By Edward Gunts

More than $3 million has been committed for housing rehabilitation and acquisitions in the Coppin Heights community of West Baltimore through an initiative led by Neighborhood Housing Services and 10 area banks.

Mayor Kurt L. Schmoke last week announced details of a plan in which the banks have agreed to make the funds available to support NHS's revitalization efforts in the neighborhood near Coppin State College.

The mayor also kicked off the "Employer-Assisted Housing Initiative," an effort to acquaint Coppin State College employees and graduates with the housing opportunities near the college. The program is coordinated jointly by NHS, the college and the city Department of Housing and Community Development.

Participating banks include The Bank of Baltimore, Citibank, Carrollton Bank of Maryland, Chase Bank of Maryland, First National Bank of Maryland, Maryland National Bank, Mercantile-Safe Deposit & Trust, NCNB National Bank of Maryland, Provident Bank and Signet Bank.


The Baltimore chapter of the National Association of Women in Construction has elected Jo Ellen Sines of Corman Construction Inc. president for its 1991-1992 membership year.

Other officers are Jacqueline Womack, Protection Services Inc., vice president; Elizabeth McKinney, Corman Construction, secretary; and Diane Foster, Speedy Sign-A-Rama, treasurer. Marilyn Rainey of Crown Electric Co. is the immediate past president. Directors include Audrey DeBaugh of Brice and Associates; Robin Scribner of John J. Kirlin; Tracey Singleton of Kamanitz, Uhlfelder & Permison; and Lena Superczynski of

Baltimore's Bureau of Construction Management.


Around the region:

* Baltimore County Executive Roger Hayden will address the Baltimore County chapter of the Home Builders Association of Maryland during its monthly dinner, at 6 p.m. Thursday at the Sheraton Towson hotel, Dulaney Valley Road and Fairmount Avenue.

* Joan M. Reeves, the current commissioner of Philadelphia's Department of Human Services, will join The Enterprise Foundation Nov. 18 as vice president of community services, a newly created position.

* Atlantic Home Mortgage Corp. has committed $10 million in permanent mortgages to four Harford County homebuilders: Keystone Homes, Lynch Builders, Lynnmar

Homes and American Landmark Homes.

* James C. Feeney has become a partner in the real estate appraisal firm of Lipman, Frizzell & Mitchell.

* Coldwell Banker Realtors has appointed Norma Judd to be the manager of its Columbia office. Cheryl Winter joined Coldwell Banker's Towson office as a sales associate.

* At the annual convention of companies affiliated with the Colliers USA real estate network, Scott Skogmo of W. C. Pinkard & Co. Inc. of Baltimore was honored as the real estate professional who originated the most intercity transactions out of 2,000 Colliers representatives. W. C. Pinkard also received an award as the company that originated the most intercity referrals within the Colliers organization.

* Oak Contracting Corp. of Baltimore recently completed the first phase of the renovations of the Plaza at Lake Kittamaqundi in the Town Center of Columbia for the Columbia Association. The phase consisted of demolition and reconstruction of the public plaza between the Rouse Co. headquarters, the American City Building and Clyde's Restaurant. Oak plans to begin construction soon on a second phase of the project that will improve the plaza all the way from Clyde's to the former Exhibit Center.

* Simply Elegant Catering has moved to the Owings Mills Commerce Centre, a development of Continental Realty Corp. Kasco Chesapeake Builders was the general contractor.

* Dr. Jeffrey Weidig has appointed McShea & Co. Inc. to be the exclusive leasing and management agent for the Shady Grove Dialysis Building near Key West Avenue and Shady Grove Road in Gaithersburg.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.