Wind Disappoints Half Of Fall Series Fleet


October 16, 1991|By Nancy Noyes

The popular Annapolis Yacht Club Fall Series came to a disappointingconclusion for many in the fleet of approximately 120 IMS, PHRF A and B and J/35 teams competing in the Saturday races last weekend.

The wind failed to arrive in time for a start, and that fleet's series-- which also was canceled because of a lack of sailable air the first week of the three-week schedule -- ended with the previous week's race as its only contest.

On Sunday, however, the fleet of 117 starters of the 134 MORC, PHRF C and cruising one-design entrants once again made out better thantheir Saturday counterparts. They enjoyed a tight and exciting 10.1-mile windward-leeward contest in more cooperative breeze, bringing that series to a full complement of three races.

One of Sunday's tightest races, in which two equally rated boats arrived at the finish line only four seconds apart on both elapsed and corrected time, took place in PHRF C. John White and the team on his newly acquired and still-unnamed Capri 25, after running second behind Dave Gendell and crew on his S2 7.9 Bang in both of the series' previous races, slid over the finish line first.

After the two teams tied in Annapolis Race Week last month, Gendell was the winner of this series by a margin of 1.25 points, and the competition between the two remains hot.

"They clearly sailed a great series," White said of his rivals. "If wesail the boat right, it'll do it, but they sail their boat very well, so it's always very close."

White said that despite a substantial early lead, fluky conditions helped Gendell catch up.

"At times we might have had 2 knots, and at times we might have had 15," White said. "It was all across the board. We spent very little time nearby (Bang). We had been way out in front, and then it all evaporated, andthey almost caught us."

The only team to ace all three races in its class for a clean sweep of the series was Art Libby's Pearson 30 crew on Results, although the Cal 25 and Alberg 30 winners each took two bullets.

In other classes, notably the huge J/24 division, MORCand especially the always competitive J/30s, overall results came down to the wire in the last race. Mixed results through the series forvirtually all of the top contenders meant close point scores at the end of Sunday's final race.

For the team of Bill Rutsch and John Aras and their crew on BeBop, finishing third on Sunday behind class newcomer Alan Schreitmueller on Jaguar and veteran Steve Bardelman on Valhalla was good enough to keep them in the lead in the J/30 class.

They won by a margin of three-fourths of a point when their closest rivals, Ron Peterson with his team on Valkyrie, and Michael McGuirkon Gunsmoke came in fifth and seventh, respectively, in the final race, and early leader Doug Ensor took 13th to tie Tom Donlan on Tiger for fourth.

In the Saturday fleet, where some of AYC's most impressive and prestigious trophies are awarded to the overall IMS and PHRFfleet winners, top honors in IMS will go to Mark Fischer and Nick Brown on Brown's J/44 Iona, which cleared the top of that 50-boat fleetin the single race completed in the Saturday series.

The St. Mary's College team on the school's Briand 50 Gem took corresponding honors in the 57-boat PHRF A and B fleet.

AYC Fall Series

Race 3

Sunday, Oct. 13

MORC (18 starters): 1) Frog Legs, Paul Awalt, Ellicott City, 2:10:31 c.t.; 2) Dilemma, Jack Kenily, Forestville, 2:13:37 c.t.; 3) Witch's Flower, John Sherwood, Annapolis, 2:14:48 c.t.; 4) A Train, Robert Reeves, Annapolis, 2:15:56 c.t.

PHRF C (17 starters): 1) Sail No. 32572, John White, Severna Park, 1:32:45 c.t.; 2) Bang, David Gendell, Arnold, 1:32:49 c.t.; 3) Triple Dee III, Peter Driscoll, Beallsville, 1:34:46 c.t.; 4) Satori, Richard May, Baltimore,1:37:16 c.t.

Alberg 30 (8 starters): 1) Argo, Peter Scheidt, Highland; 2) Phantom, Bruce Breiding, Washington; 3) Cannonball, Bill Wallop, Annapolis.

Cal 25 (9 starters): 1) White Cap, Timothy Bloomfield, Chevy Chase; 2) Riders Up, D. Wooldridge, Annapolis; 3) Jumpin' Jack Flash, John Niemczuk, Glen Burnie.

J/30 (19 starters): 1) Jaguar, Alan Schreitmueller, Silver Spring; 2) Valhalla, Steve Bardelman, Sherwood Forest; 3) Be Bop, Bill Rutsch/John Aras, Chevy Chase/Annapolis; 4) Wooly Bear, Terry Rapp, Riverside, N.J.

J/24 (39 starters): 1) Bangor Packet, Anthony Parker, Washington; 2) Riff Raff, Paul Borssuck, Annapolis; 3*) Latent Defect, Stewart Spettel/Tim Mowry, Alexandria, Va./Annapolis; 4) Rainbo, Peter Cramer/Bo McBee, Alexandria, Va./Lancaster, Pa.; 5) Blood Sweat & Tears, Rick Bowe, Washington; 6) Heartbreaker, Rob Kyle/Todd Barr, Annapolis; 7) Kadamar, Richard O'Keefe, Philadelphia.

Pearson 30 (7 starters): 1) Results, Art Libby, Annapolis; 2) Knotbobs, Daniel Miller, Baltimore; 3) English Muffin, Philip Tierney, McLean, Va.

Overall series results

IMS I (16 entries): 1) Iona, Mark Fischer, Ruxton; 2) Glory, Peter duPont, Rockland, Del.; 3) Prima, Norwood Davis, (address unavailable); 4) Capella VII, Jim Stanley, Cumberland Fireside, Maine.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.