Several scholarship awards have been announced by Towson...

HERE'S TO . . .

September 08, 1991

Several scholarship awards have been announced by Towson State University. Kiki Tsiknakis of Towson and Starr Belsky of Baltimore have been awarded Charlotte W. Newcombe Scholarships. Ms. Tsiknakis is pursuing a master of education in reading degree. Ms. Belsky is a senior majoring in biology and a dean's list student.

A Minority Award for Academic Excellence has been awarded to Nandy Yearwood of Baltimore for the 1991-'92 academic year. She is majoring in business administration. A BUILD scholarship has been awarded to Latavia Marquette Duncan of Baltimore for the 1991-'92 academic year. Ms. Duncan is a sophomore majoring in mass communication.

Arian Jakob of Randallstown has been awarded a Dean's Scholarship for the fall 1991 semester. Mr. Jakob is a junior majoring in accounting.

Diana Scott of Eldersburg has been awarded a Dean's Scholarship of $285 from Towson State University's College of Continuing Studies for the 1991 fall semester. Mrs. Scott, a community relations specialist with Carroll Community College, is one of seven recipients to receive this merit-based



Laura Jeanne Balakir of Baltimore and Edward S. Kurz III oMount Airy have been named co-winners of the Argonaut Award, presented to the graduating Western Maryland College senior with the highest grade point average. Both Ms. Balakir and Mr. Kurz graduated in May with a perfect 4.0 grade point average.


Sarah Cromwell of East Baltimore has been named Nurse of thYear 1991 by the Baltimore City Health Department for her role in improving prenatal care programs for city residents and inmates in the Women's Detention Center at Baltimore City Jail as well as for her dedication to crime prevention and grief counseling.


Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.