Bucentaur team profits from turn in weather


September 02, 1991|By Nancy Noyes | Nancy Noyes,Special to The Sun

ANNAPOLIS -- The winds were kinder yesterday on the Chesapeake Bay near Annapolis, where a record group of 219 yachts divided into two fleets and 15 classes completed the second race in the Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association's 1991 Annapolis Race Week.

The conditions were far more satisfying for the yachts than those they faced Saturday, when the regatta began.

Fleet 1, including all three IMS splits, PHRF A and B, and one-design classes for J/35s and J/30s, sailed a 10.2-mile windward-leeward course near Thomas Point managed by the Shearwater Sailing Club and the Magothy River Sailing Association. Fleet 2, including PHRF C and Nonspinnaker, MORC, and the rest of the cruising one-design classes, competed on a 10.26-mile Olympic triangle course set farther north near the mouth of the Severn River by the Eastport Yacht Club.

The Bucentaur team got a second victory in the IMS II class series yesterday, so although it will be difficult to knock out of the top slot in the class, it also is in strong contention for one of the prestigious overall trophies.

PHRF C and Nonspinnaker, and Pearson 30 sailors filed requests for redress after Saturday's race. Only two or three boats in each class were able to complete the race before the expiration of the time limit and retirement of the race committee without taking further finish times after the limit was up.

After a hearing by the protest committee yesterday, the race was thrown out. All results for the three classes will be discarded in scoring the series, so these three classes will join the Alberg 30s, Catalina 27s, and Cal 25s -- who had no finishers Saturday before the time limit expired -- in having only two races scored in their series.

Fleet 1

IMS I (9 starters): 1. Ichiban, Jim Allsopp, Arnold, 0:56:32 c.t.; 2. Morning Light, Mid. Hornbuckle, USNA, 0:58:13 c.t.; 3. Cinnabar, Mid. Robert Bruce, USNA, 0:58:26 c.t.

IMS II (16 starters): 1. Bucentaur, Steve Stunda/Ian Chambers, Baltimore/Annapolis, 0:55:22 c.t.; 2. Vamp, Vamp Syndicate, Annapolis, 0:56:08 c.t.; 3. Privateer, Dave Dodge, Annapolis, 0:57:30 c.t.

IMS III (6 starters): 1. Moonshine, Jim Schneider, Salisbury, 0:59:26 c.t.; 2. Insight, Alan Harquail, Annapolis, 1:01:06 c.t.; 3. Contraire, Steve Schaub, Eldersburg, 1:01:11 c.t.

PHRF A (23 starters): 1. Gem, St. Mary's College, St. Mary's City, 1:46:52 c.t.; 2. Tigress, Bob Waldschmitt, Solomons, 1:48:56 c.t.; 3. Chesapeake, Seward Lawlor, Norfolk, Va., 1:48:57 c.t.; 4. Witch, Glenn Robbins, Severna Park, 1:50:59 c.t.; 5. Moonlighting, Thomas French, Annapolis, 1:51:10 c.t.

PHRF B (25 starters): 1. Hooligan, Steve Pollard, Lexington Park, 1:46:19 c.t.; 2. PollyWannaCracka?, Larry Kumins, Annapolis, 1:47:33 c.t.; 3. Flying Circus, Jervis Dorton, Columbia, 1:48:37 c.t.; 4. Goldfish, Donald Zinn, Annapolis, 1;50:20 c.t.; 5. Another Fine Mess, Eugene Bremont, Baltimore, 1:53:08 c.t.

J/35 (14 starters): 1. Outrageous, Henry Judy, Davidsonville; 2. Sundog, Paul Parks, Shadyside; 3. Moonbeam, Will Keyworth/John Danziesen, Annapolis.

J/30 (20 starters): 1. Turbo Duck, Bodo Von Der Wense, Gulph Mills, Pa.; 2. BeBop, Bill Rutsch, Chevy Chase; 3. Valkyrie, Ron Peterson, Annapolis; 4. Tiger, Tom Donlan, Falls Church, Va.; 5. No Respect, R,B & G Harrison, Chester.

Fleet 2

MORC (12 starters): 1. Frog Legs, Paul Awalt, Ellicott City, 1:33:28 c.t.; 2. Mirage, David Lewis/Fred Salvesen, Annapolis/Edgewater, 1:35:29 c.t.; 3. Skylarkn, Bob Dunning, Easton, 1:35:59 c.t.

PHRF C (20 starters): 1. Bang, David Gendell, Arnold, 1:33:17 c.t.; 2. Haiku, W & P Scott, Baltimore, 1:40:16 c.t.; 3. [no name], John White, Severna Park, 1:41:05 c.t.; 4. Red Streaker, George Culbertson, Timonium, 1:41:21 c.t.; 5. Allegro, J.T. Sliter, Washington, DC, 1:42:25 c.t.

PHRF nonspinnaker (11 starters): 1. Enduro, P,P & D Summers, Annapolis, 1:41:23 c.t.; 2. La Pomme, Tom Apple, Westminster, 1:42:09 c.t.; 3. Sundae Lovers, Bruce Bogdanoff, Swedesboro, NJ, 1:44:24 c.t.

Alberg 30 (8 starters): 1. Sundance, William Chambers, Fulton; 2. Lingin, Bruce Rankin, Annapolis; 3. Cannonball, Bill Wallop, Annapolis.

J/24 (15 starters): 1. Bangor Packet, Anthony Parker, Washington, DC; 2. Smooth Operator, David Raley, Hollywood; 3. Dream Girl, Russell Potee, Arnold.

Catalina 27 (11 starters): 1. Swell, Derick Lynch, Arnold; 2. Merlin, Mark Oursler, Severna Park; 3. Token, Reynaldo Rodriguez, Annapolis.

Cal 25 (9 starters): 1. Riders Up, Dave Wooldridge, Annapolis; 2. Dominica, Jim Hobson, Annapolis; 3. Chicken Little, Charlie Husar, Annapolis.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.