Akers Appointed

Business people

September 01, 1991

Sharon Akers has been appointed director of development and chief operating officer for Howard Hospital Foundation effective Sept. 1.

The foundation has been the fund-raising arm of Howard County GeneralHospital since 1976, but Akers will be the first paid executive.


CAPTION: Sharon Akers is Howard Hospital Foundation's new director of development and chief executive officer. Akers is the first paid executive for the foundation, the fund-raising arm of Howard County General Hospital.


Frank K. Brandt has been named sales manager for Patriot Homes, acompanion company of Williamsburg Builders and Hallmark Builders in Howard County.

Brandt will be responsible for the Patriot Homes sales program at two new sites in Howard County: Cedar Manor, located next to Cedar Lane Park and Mapleside in the Village of Kings Contrivance off Guilford Road.


I. Semra Engin has joined the Columbia Medical Plan's radiology department at the Columbiaoffice.

Engin, who received her medical degree in 1974 from the University of Ankara in Turkey, was employed by the Department of Radiology at VA Medical Center in San Juan, Puerto Rico.


William J. Bavis and John A. Faggio of Ellicott City recently formed the firm of Bavis, Faggio & Associates, P.A.

Bavis, a practicing CPA for 20 years, specializes in financial and tax strategies for emerging companies.

Faggio, who has been practicing in Howard County for 14 years, specializes in family financial planning, retirement planning and succession planning for closely held businesses.


Stewart L. Smith of Mount Airy, has been named manager of systems technology of the computer resources division at BlueCross-Blue Shield of Maryland.

Smith, who has nearly 30 years of experience with the IBM Corp., has spent the last six years prior to his retirement as an IBM representative to Blue Cross-Blue Shield.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.