Dickinson Red Devils

Centennial Football Conference Outlooks

September 01, 1991


Red Devils

Coach: Ed Sweeney, seventh year

Assistant coaches: Darwin Breaux, Ben Miller, Joel Quattrone, Scott Shank, Leon Fritts, Richard Heffernan Jr., Matthew Kucik

Last year's record: 8-1-1 overall, 5-1-1and first in Centennial Football Conference

Top returnees: Seniors, fullback Geoffrey "Bub" O'Donnell, defensive back/punt returner Shaughn White, defensive tackle Steve Miller; juniors, quarterback Stuart James, offensive tackle Jeffrey Gercak, defensive end Brian Ridgway, kicker Mike Krasnow, defensive backs Dan Hickey, Mike Lawlor, linebackers Craig Rippole, Mike Sterner; sophomore, tailback/return specialist Lou Cristinziani

Top newcomers: Freshmen, offensive tackle Peter Binning; offensive tackle/defensive tackle/tight end Dom Argentino; linebacker Neil Gutekunst

Coach's comments: "It's nicer to be here (preseason favorite) than where we were six or seven years ago. Offensively, we're going to be young. Defensively, we've got about nine starters back. They're going to have to take the pressure off the offense, at least initially."

The Carroll County Sun's outlook: Dickinson was the Centennial Conference doormat during the first two years of the conference, placing last in 1983 and 1984 and next-to-lastin 1985 and 1986. By 1987, the Red Devils had improved to second andhave won three straight titles. The team will have several new offensive starters, especially at the skill positions, but the team was favored to repeat as conference champions in a poll of CFC head coaches. The defense will have to carry the load while the offense matures and the Devils should be up to the task, since much of the same cast held opponents to an average of 72 rushing yards per game last year. If the offense compensates for the loss of seven starters, the Devils will contend.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.