Auto racingNewman-Haas Racing -- Signed Mario Andretti to...


August 24, 1991

Auto racing

Newman-Haas Racing -- Signed Mario Andretti to a 2-year contract and Michael Andretti to a one-year contract.


Milwaukee Brewers -- Announced that P Teddy Higuera underwent arthroscopic surgery to repair left rotator cuff and torn cartilage in his left shoulder socket.

New York Mets -- Signed P Bill Pulsipher.


Houston Rockets -- Waived F-C Adrian Caldwell (2.0 ppg, 2.2 rpg) to allow him to sign with the Cantu Basketball Club of the Italian A1 League. Renounced the rights to former Washington Bullets C Dave Feitl.

Portland Trail Blazers -- Signed reserve F Cliff Robinson (11.7 ppg, 4.3 rpg) to a contract extension that will keep him with the team at least through the 1995-96 season. He reportedly will receive about $9 million over 5 years.


Ohio State -- TB Robert Smith (1,126 rushing yards last season, breaking the school freshman record of 867 yards set in 1972 by 2-time Heisman Trophy winner Archie Griffin) said he has quit the team, citing what he called a lack of respect by the coaching staff.

Tabor -- Named former Denver Broncos WR Rick Upchurch special teams and receivers coach.


Cleveland Browns -- Signed DL Ernie Logan and DL John Thornton.

Green Bay Packers -- Cut 6-year veteran P Don Bracken and P Jeff Fite.

New England Patriots -- Agreed to terms with CB Maurice Hurst (44 tackles, 11 passes defensed) and NT Tim Goad (89 tackles), both starters. Waived rookie free agent LB Brian Ryder. Claimed WR-KR Stacey Simmons off waivers from the Indianapolis Colts.

Seattle Seahawks -- Agreed to terms with FB James Jones on a 1-year contract.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers -- Activated CB Wayne Haddix from the roster exemption list. Waived LB Malvin Hunter.


Vancouver Canucks -- Signed University of North Dakota D Jason Herter, the eighth overall pick in the 1989 entry draft, to a multiyear contract.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.