Chesapeake crew beats shifting winds for win


August 21, 1991|By Nancy Noyes | Nancy Noyes,Special to The Sun

SOLOMONS -- Boat handling and superb crew work made the difference in yesterday's second of five races in this year's Audi-Yachting Race Week at Solomons Island.

The race committee set a start for the regularly scheduled 10 a.m. sequence, but abandoned the race after the light wind shifted so radically that boats on the first beat were forced to use their spinnakers.

It was not long before the new wind filled in, however, and a second starting sequence just before 1 p.m. sent the fleet of 72 yachts sailing in five PHRF divisions and one IMS class on a windward-leeward course, with classes A through E, including the largest and fastest boats, sailing three times around for an 18-mile circuit, and the smaller boats in Class F making the circuit twice for a total of 12 miles.

Russ Deane of Annapolis, sailing his Merit 25 Chardonnay to second place in Class F, described the conditions.

"For the last two starts of the first race, there was no wind at all," he said. "Then it filled in and swept all the way around, and everybody had their chutes up.

Class A PHRF (10 starters): 1. Chesapeake, Seward Lawlor, Hampton, Va., 2:28:48 c.t.; 5.* Sweet Witch, Brent Halsey, Richmond, Va., 2:30:42 c.t.; 3. Tigress, Bob Waldschmitt, Solomons, 2:32:39 c.t.; 4. Kapey, Steve Perkins, Berwyn, Pa., 2:34:23 c.t.; 5. Gem, Mike Ironmonger, St. Mary's City, 2:34:34 c.t.; 6. Sundog, Paul Parks, Shady Side, 2:34:51 c.t.; 7. Patriot, Larry Lehner, York, Pa., 2:35:51 c.t.; 8. Loose Change, Becky Miller, Hampton, Va., 2:38:14 c.t.; 9. Blizzard, J. Lipscomb/G. Garrett, Richmond, Va., 2:38:45 c.t.; Inside Trader, Trevor Underwood, New York, DSQ.

Class B IMS (13 starters): 1. Fatal Attraction, Gray Kiger/Gene Thayer, Norfolk, Va., 1:49:28 c.t.; 2. Ichiban, Jim Allsopp, Arnold, 1:50:56 c.t.; 3. Rayzor's Edge, Ray Webb/David Van Cleef, Lexington, Ky., 1:51:19 c.t.; 4. Crescendo, Stephen Hiltabidle, Annapolis, 1:53:30 c.t.; 5. Promises, Sledd Shelhorse, Virginia Beach, Va., 1:53:43 c.t.; 6. Revenge, Bill Peach, Newport News, Va., 1:54:58 c.t.; 7. Sea Star, Vernon Eberwine Jr., Suffolk, Va., 1:55:52 c.t.; 8. Sounion, Charles Sullivan, University Park, 156:58 c.t.; 9. Yellow Jacket, Mark Bennett Jr., Annapolis, 1:57:30 c.t.; 10. Southern Exposure, K.D. Sarrett Jr., Hampton, Va., 1:58:17 c.t.; 11. Battlewagon, John Hanna, Seaford, Va., 1:59:27 c.t.; 12. Cash Flow, Lloyd Griffin, Elizabeth City, N.C., 1:59:38 c.t.;

Kahuna, Sanford Richardson, Virginia Beach, Va., RET.

Class C PHRF (11 starters): 1. Firebrand, James Rogers, Richmond, Va., 2:31:53 c.t..; 2. Prelude, Mark Myers, St. Mary's City, 2:33:40 c.t.; 3. Chunky, Richard Schmidtlein, Annapolis, 2:37:21 c.t.; 4. Vamp, William Nicolls III, Newport News, Va., 2:38:29 c.t.; 5. Cody, Sandy Morse, Washington, 2:40:26 c.t.; 6. Witch, Glenn Robbins, Severna Park, 2:40:26 c.t.; 7. Madam X, Jerry Dowling/Orion Syndicate, Philadelphia, 2:43:07 c.t.; 8. Blue Max, Paul Mraz, Elkton, 2:45:24 c.t.; 9. Ka Boom, Jeff Craig, Nokesville, Va., 2:48:07 c.t.; 10. Shamrock, Bob Rock, Richmond, Va., 2:52:34 c.t.; Ariel, Richard Gaglio, DSQ.

Class D PHRF (13 starters): 1. PollyWannaCracka, Larry Kumins, Annapolis, 2:31:54 c.t.; 2. Mirage, Fred Salvesen/David Lewis, Edgewater/Annapolis, 2:32:14 c.t.; 3. Goldfish, Donald Zinn, Annapolis, 2:33:54 c.t.; 4. Rubadubdub, Alex Schlegel, West River, 2:33:55 c.t.; 5. Irresponsible, Joseph Matera, Kensington, 2:36:30 c.t.; 6. Stingray, Robert Muller, Annapolis, 2:37:40 c.t.; 7. Busted, Thomas Whittle, Chester, Va., 2:37:57 c.t.; 8. Terrific, Olaf tom-Felde, Annapolis, 2:39:25 c.t.; 9. Priority One, Ron Spicuzza, California, 2:41:32 c.t.; 10. Good Times, Bill Schwarz, Randallstown, 2:42:39 c.t.; 11. Krugerrand, Troyer/Hogan, Dahlgren, Va., 12. Rhumb Punch, John Edwards III, Seaford, Del., 2:44:51 c.t.; 13. Persuasion, David Kiernan, Washington, 2:52:07 c.t.

Class E PHRF (13 starters): 1. Kestrel, Stewart Buckler Jr., Avenue, 2:30:02 c.t.; 2. Ciao, Jim Cullen, Annapolis, 2:32:08 c.t.; 3. Flying Circus, Jervis Dorton, Columbia, 2:32:36 c.t.; 4. Puffin, Rob Mairs, Edgewater, 2:35:39 c.t.; 5. Cool Change, Rusty Burshell, Grafton, Va., 2:38:53 c.t.; 6. New Day, Emory Bales, Dahlgren, Va., 2:46:07 c.t.; 7. Midnight Express, Darryl Greb, Dameron, 3:17:05 c.t.; 8. Eight Ball, David Huff, Hampton, Va., 3:21:31 c.t.; 9. Vertwo, John & Betty Scott, Towson, 3:22:08 c.t.; 10. Crazy Ivan, Jeffrey Harris, Edgewater, 3:23:36 c.t.; 11. Southerly, Fred Sage, Newport News, Va., 3:24:47 c.t.; 12. Slick, Dean Mulder, Bowie, 3:27:39 c.t.; 13. Paradox, M.T. Blackwood, Richmond, Va., 3:28:34 c.t.

Class F PHRF (9 starters): 1. Fubar, John Weir, Lexington Park, 1:40:39 c.t.; 2. Chardonnay, Russ Deane, Annapolis, 1:41:07 c.t.; 3. Pegasus, Steven Watkins, Dahlgren, Va., 1:44:28 c.t.; 4. Satori, Richard May, Baltimore, 1:45:09 c.t.; 5. Chandelle, Barney Hathaway, Great Mills, 1:46:12 c.t.; 6. Bon Temps, David Butler, Hollywood, 1:46:53 c.t.; 7. Marmalade, Mark Hergan, St. Mary's City, 1:47:22 c.t.; 8. The Baby, Rob & Sue Sloan, California, 1:50:28 c.t.; 9. Chareta II, Charles Crawford Jr., Solomons, 2:00:26 c.t.

* 20 percent penalty has been added to score, changing second-place finish to fifth.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.