'Alley Apples' to begin run Friday at Fells Point...


August 04, 1991|By J. Wynn Rousuck

'Alley Apples' to begin run Friday at Fells Point Theatre

Herman Kemper's "Alley Apples" -- the story of a widowed father trying to hold his family and his business together -- begins a three-weekend run Friday at Fells Point Corner Theatre, 251 S. Ann St., as part of the Baltimore Playwrights Festival. Curtain times are Fridays and Saturdays at 8:30 p.m.; Sundays, Aug. 11 and 18 at 7 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 25, at 2 p.m. Tickets are $7.

Richard Jackson directs this turbulent drama, set against the backdrop of the civil rights struggles of the '60s. For more information call 276-7837.

@ "Broadway Bound," the final segment in Neil Simon's autobiographical trilogy, opens Friday at Cockpit in Court's Upstairs Cabaret. In this installment, Mr. Simon's alter ego, Eugene Jerome, launches his career as a writer. Show times are 8 p.m. Friday and Saturday and again Aug. 15-17; and 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. Aug. 11 and 18. Tickets are $9.

Meanwhile, on its main stage, Cockpit will present Lerner and Loewe's musical "Brigadoon." Show times are the same with additional performances Aug. 14 and 15 at 8 p.m. Tickets to this musical romance are $12. Cockpit in Court performs at Essex Community College. For further information call 522-1269.


J. Wynn Rousuck "Journey of Hope," the 1991 Academy Award winner for Best Foreign Film, will be screened at the Baltimore Museum of Art Friday and Aug. 16 at 10:15 p.m., Saturday and Aug. 17 at 7:30 and 9:30 p.m. and Aug. 11 and 18 at 3 p.m.

The story of a Turkish couple and their 7-year-old son who journey from their poor village in Southeast Turkey to affluent Switzerland, the film is being presented by the Baltimore Film Forum. Admission is $6, $5 for BFF and BMA members, senior citizens and students. For information, call 889-1993.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.