Hanley, Lins to meet in final GOLF: State Women's Amateur

July 19, 1991|By John W. Stewart

Shannon Hanley blazed her way into the 71st annual Maryland State Women's Amateur championship match yesterday, dispatching two opponents by a combined total of 9-under par at Rolling Road Golf Club.

Joan Lins rallied to get by a tiring Linda Hickman on the 19th hole to gain the spot opposite last year's losing finalist.

Lins took the Seniors pairing by winning the 18th with a conceded par to square the match, then winning on the first extra hole with another conceded par. Hickman had bunkered a second shot and needed three more to get on the 18th green, and went from a ditch to a bunker to the green (in four) at No. 1.

Hanley, 23, a Congressional CC member, withstood a late rally by Andrea Kraus, from Woodholme CC, and closed her out with a birdie, 3 and 2, holing a 20-yard chip shot from the slope below the 16th green for the decision.

A James Madison University graduate who will turn professional next month, Hanley started with five straight 3s and a 4, good for 5-under par and a 5-up margin on Kraus. She turned 4-up, was 3-up after Kraus won the 14th, and was on the verge of losing the 16th to a birdie when the chip-in ended it.

The match reminded Hanley of last year's final, where she was 5-down after nine against defending champion Jane Fitzgerald, and came back at her, eventually losing, 3 and 2.

In the morning, Hanley was 6-under par in leading all the way against Cheri Cooper, who had four birdies of her own. Kraus was 1-down against Bonnie Fry after 16 holes, then won the last two holes when Fry found bunkers and could not save the pars.

Kanya Chintrisna won the 18th to get even against Hickman in the morning. The two went five extra holes, Hickman finally winning with a birdie. Lins advanced with a solid effort against long-hitting Pam Soliman.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.