Phillips' 9th-inning home run sends Tigers over Rangers, 8-7 American League

July 16, 1991

DETROIT -- Tony Phillips led off the ninth inning with Detroit's fourth home run of the game, lifting the Tigers to an 8-7 victory over the Texas Rangers last night.

Phillips hit a full-count pitch from Mike Jeffcoat (3-2) into the second deck in left field for his eighth homer of the season.

Mike Henneman (6-2), 31-6 in Tiger Stadium, pitched a perfect ninth inning. Jeffcoat retired three batters in the eighth.

Lloyd Moseby, Mickey Tettleton and Lou Whitaker also homered as the Tigers increased their major-league-leading total to 114. Ruben Sierra and Jeff Huson homered for the Rangers.

Sierra hit a three-run homer in the Texas first before there were any outs. Rusty Meacham walked Julio Franco on four pitches, Rafael Palmeiro followed with a single and Sierra hit his 13th home run.

Alan Trammell singled home a run in the Detroit first and Moseby hit a two-run homer that tied it in the second.

Trammell started the third with a single off Gerald Alexander, Cecil Fielder reached on an error by Palmeiro at first base and Tettleton hit his 17th home run for a 6-3 lead.

The Rangers narrowed it to 6-5 in the fourth when Ivan Rodriguez singled with two outs and Huson hit his second career homer, his first ever on the road.

In the bottom half, Whitaker hit the fourth inside-the-park homer of his career, his 12th homer of the season, for a 7-5 lead.

It was the Tigers' first inside-the-park homer since Mike Heath's against Milwaukee in 1986. But it was the second against the Rangers in five days; Rance Mulliniks hit one in Toronto on Thursday.

Successive doubles by Juan Gonzalez and Kevin Reimer narrowed it to 7-6 in the fifth and Paul Gibson relieved Meacham. The Rangers tied it in the sixth when Huson singled and scored on Palmeiro's two-out single.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.