Title shots are as easy as 1-2-3 to local trio

Area golf notebook

July 01, 1991|By George Taylor | George Taylor,Special to The Evening Sun

Adrian Druzgala won his first stroke play club title, Bill McLean became a two-time match play champion and Michael Ewing was a three-time losing finalist in area golf.

Although a repeated match play winner at Hobbits Glen, Druzgala won the club's stroke play championship for the first time, edging Bob Lutz in a playoff. The pair originally tied at 151 over 36 holes.

McLean captured his second championship at Elkridge Club, stopping Ewing 4-and-3 in a 36-hole match play final. It marked thae third time thaat Ewing failed to become a winning finalist.

McLean held a 3-up lead after 18 holes and was just 1-up after 27 holes. However, he wrapped up the victory by winning four straight holes on the closing nnine.

Othdr flight winners at Elkridge were: Jim Grieves, Dr. D.C. Finney, Al Keidel, E.B. Haarris and Bob Grose.

Elsewhere in area golf:

* Rocky Point -- Pete Regala led the Baltimore County Junior tournament, posting a 68 in the 16-17 age class. Gerald Lee was second with 72. Other divisional leaders were:

(14-15)-Justin Erdman 76 and Jonothon Stecker 78, (12-13)-Wes Lovell 63 for 12 holes and Tim Smith 69, (10-11)-Bart Deluca 42 for nine holes, (9 and under)-won by Chad Perman. The overall girls winner was Jenny Chausiripron, scoring 79 for 18 holes. Christin Bollenberg had 84.

* Md. Golf -- Bill Stetka and Bill Capello, defending champion of the President's Cup, defeated Larry Collins and Ken Zeckman ** 4-2 in the first round. The medalist pair of Alan Getz and Jack Nichols defeated Stan Getz and Glen Ingold 5-4.

* Crofton -- Crofton professional Mark Spolarich scored 69 to finish in a four-way tie for pro sweepstakes honors in the PGA event at the Red Gate course. Also at 69 were Bob Boyd, Jack Skilling and Bruce Lehnhard.

* C.C. of Md. -- Stan Bailey's 70 led first-round scores in the President's Cup tourney. John Jean's 78-11--67 paced low net in Class A. Other divisional leaders were Dick Anderson 79-14--65, Joe Lance 87-21--66 and R.J. Long 89-23--66.

Bill and David Gross won the adult division of the club's Parent-Child tournament, scoring a gross 69. Low net leaders with 65 scores were the teams of Coni and Neal Lanzi, Dayton and Joe LaPonzina, Paul and Rich McEvoy and Barbara and Tom Wagner Jr. John and Brendan Moag led the junior division, scoring a gross 71.

* Hobbits Glen -- Sherri Cooper won the women's stroke play championship, scoring 76-79--155. Second place went to Young Ja Kim with 79-78--157.

Wes Lacey captured the men's senior crown for the second time, defeating Dick Lewis in a playoff.

* Rolling Road -- Dave Amey and Guy Daniello were playoff winners in the McGinnis and Crismer tournaments, respectively. Amey carded 88-17--71 and Daniello had 90-24--66.

Ron Appler's 71-75--146 score is leading after two rounds of the 54-hole club stroke play championship. He is followed by John Souder 75-72--146, Rick Sovero 75-74--149, Gene Fields 72-78--150 and Andy Pataki 77-73--150.

* Chestnut Ridge -- Harvey and Joyce Kirk won the Mr. and Mrs. Championship, carding a gross score of 175. Second place went to Conrad and Marsha Bruns with 177. Net leaders were Stan and Shirley Adler 141 and Bob and Terry East 146. Low gross in the nine-hole division was won by Richard and Dorothy Sammis with 100. Harvey and Annette Feldman were second with 105. Net leaders were Morris and Ruth Older 66, Barry and Joyce Walpert 76 and Henry and Sue Holzman 76.

* Bonnie View -- First-round leaders in the President's Cup tournament were Dave Berman 85-20--65 and Aaron Young 83-16--67.

* Forest Park -- With contestants limited to just four clubs, the leading scores were Calvin Hall 66, Art Boseman 67, John Williams 69 and Ted McRae 69.

* Clifton Park -- Leonard Espstein scored a hole-in-one on the 158-yard fourth hole.

* Green Spring -- Tyler Blue won the club championship for the second time, stopping three-time former winner Sandy Martin, 8-and-7, in a 36-hole final. After gaining a 3-up morning round lead, Blue was under par for the remaining holes.

* Suburban -- Winning foursome in the Triple Crown points tourney included John Sachs, Adam Cohen, Harvey Solomon and Ellen Movin, scoring 345. Other leading teams were Alex Reamer, Alan Garfinkel, David Kreisberg and Joyce Rochlin 344 and Ira Patel, Jim Smith, Lowell Herman and Reyna Lederman 344.

* Woodholme -- In a two-man team competition, Herb Bank and Bob Schastel defeated John and Charles Baum in the final.

* Piney Branch -- Lee and Vicky Schmelz won low net with 61 in the Husband-Wife tourney. Bob and Joan Holland were next with 62. In the gross division, Dave and Jan Schmid edged Mark and Shela Bertoldi in a playoff after the teams tied with 78s.

* Baltimore CC -- Sally Casey won the Women's Club Championship, defeating Catherine Ruddo in the final. Other flight results saw: First-Jane Emich defeat Fran Ghingher, Second-Elsa Boynton defeat Mary Lou Urquhart, Third-Eileen Johnston defeat Betty Thompson, Fourth-Bernie Cook defeat Jean Cooper, and Fourth-Ceil Simmons defeat Santhy Tappas.

Results of the nine-hole division were: Championship-Nancy Webster defeated Sue McDonough, First-Marty Grill defeated Anne Tenhooten, Second-Mary Rose Dunn defeated Rita Nolte, Third-Tippie Sieck defeated Gwen Dunbar, Fourth-Marie O'Rourke defeated Sue Geary, Fifth-Bea Post defeated Pat Ross, Sixth-Alice Reid defeated Kay Swan.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.