Principal Ready To Retire, Class Of '95 To Enter High School


Awards Presented At Middle Schools

June 21, 1991|By Peg Adamarczyk

Goodbyes and best wishes are extended to Sunset Elementary's principal Shirley T. Phillips, who will retire on July 1.

After a rewarding career of more than 32 years in public education, she will join her husband, Herb, traveling, playing golf and spending time together. Eventually they will be relocating to the west coast of Florida.

John Smith, principal at Belvedere Elementary School in Arnold, has been appointed principal.


Last week we bid hail and farewell to the class of '91.

Those young men and women cornered the majority of our attention, as they should, for their accomplishments.

But lurking out there is another unsung group, the class of '95, also known as eighth-graders from George Fox and Chesapeake Bay Middle Schools.

For many parents, myself included, middle school was a newexperience. Most of us attended an elementary school for eight yearsor a junior high, so we were not really sure just what middle schoolis all about.

They enter middle school as timid, unsure sixth-graders. Three years later, they are teens primed and ready for their passage onto high school. Hot stuff until September rolls around, and then it's back to the bottom rung of yet another ladder they'll have to climb.

Both middle schools conducted Student Awards Nights during the final week of school.

George Fox Middle presented awards on June 12 to its students.

Eleven team awards were given for outstanding academic performance to: Team 6A, Kimberly Kirby and Amanda Lesher; 6B, Amy Mildenburger and Sara Wojtanik; 6C, Amanda Llewellyn and Melissa Thomas; 6D, Erin McPate; 7A, Shannon Metzler; 7B, Nathaniel Fish; 8A, Lisa Rasnake; 8B, Carrie Griffin; 8C, David Bohn and BradleyEberhardt; and 8D, Jacqueline Rowan.

Awards for the most academically improved students were given to: Jennifer Canter, Angela Delozier, William Keating, Karl Matthews, Edward Mika, James Mills, Jessica Mitten, Kevin Murphy, Tamara Sowards, Bryan Sponheimer and Rod Straw.

Department awards were given to outstanding students for extra effort.

The math department award was given to Justin Bachmann.

Science department awards went to Kimberly Kirby for a winning entry in the National Scholastic Science Puzzle contest and Jason Yannuzzi for being selected to attend a space shuttle launch.

From the art department, sixth-graders Jake Hooker and Angie Pente received specialawards. Awards for outstand achievement in art were given to Jennifer Curran, James Janeski, Joe Morgan, Keung Kyu Namgoong and Sean Richardson.

Foreign language department awards were given to Rachel Bunn, Sarah David and Amanda Lesher for outstanding achievements in exploratory language. Outstanding honors in Spanish were awarded to Elizabeth Boone, Nathaniel Fish, David Linseck, Maleah Rey, Aaron Voelcker, Andrea Williams and Tammy Woomer.

For displaying overall excellence in home economics, honors went to Tasha Dunn, Jake Hooker, Jennifer Lawler, Jason Miele, Jake Miller and Andrea Williams.

Autumn Ambrose received the G.I.V.E. volunteer award.

Superintendent's Physical Fitness Awards went to Rachel Bunn, Chris Morrow, Brad Sebero and Carlos Zayas.

The physical education department and the PTA gave awards to members of the Foxy Ladies dance group and their parents:Tamar Bragg, Nichole Buch, Jessica Curran, Heather Douglas, Sonja Gladwin, Shelly Guy, Varerie Mann, Lisa Petraglia, Becky Porter, Gwen Treadwell, Andrea Williams and Jennifer Woolwine.

Outgoing PTA president Carlene Heilamn presented awards to principal John Brown and industrial arts teacher Tim Dahle. She also honored the teachers in the"Caring and Sharing" program: Barbara Corak, Joann Howard, Jane Mober, Marla Mooney, Pam Swaggerty and Steve Sweet.

Also honored were teacher Debbie Hickman, for designing the new PTA logo, and Tim Rhodes, Valerie Pendegraph and members of Girl Scout Troop 1242 for their help with Operation Desert Storm activities at the school.


Chesapeake Bay Middle School's Awards ceremony took place last Tuesday evening.

Fifty-eight eighth-grade students received Presidential Academic Fitness Awards. This award acknowledges students who have maintained a 3.5 grade-point average during their three years and scored80 percent or above on standardized tests.

The award was presented to:

Rebecca Adamarczyk, Chanise Adkins, Brian Appleby, Stacy Armstrong, Jennifer Bernardi, John Bradley, Helen Bui, Karen Cavey, Randy Clifford, Holly Colajezzi, Dawn Collins, Christopher Daywalt, Kristina Degentesh, Katherine Deters, Gregory Diggs, Margarite Drgos, Angela Ernest, Kimberly Fox, Melinda French, Eric Frienner, Deborah Hamilton, Laura Henne, Christina Horn, Tata Howland, Jaime Jones, MichelleKairis, Jay Kimmel and Kathleen Kniess.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.