Mears wins Miller pole with record lapMILWAUKEE -- Rick...

Auto racing roundup

June 02, 1991

Mears wins Miller pole with record lap

MILWAUKEE -- Rick Mears blew away the rest of the qualifiers yesterday, taking the pole position for today's Miller 200 with a record-smashing lap of 162.267 mph.

Mears, who drove away last Sunday with his fourth Indianapolis 500 victory, broke his two-year-old record of 160.822 with the quick lap on Wisconsin State Fair Park Speedway's one-mile oval.

It was Mears' third pole of the season -- all on ovals; his third in a row here; and the 37th of his career.

Mario Andretti was a distant second at 158.907, followed by son and teammate Michael at 158.802 and Danny Sullivan at 157.477.

1. Rick Mears, Bakersfield, Calif., Penske-Chevrolet 162.267,track record; previous record 160.822, Rick Mears, 1989; Mario Andretti, Nazareth, Pa., Lola-Chevrolet, 158.907; 3. Michael Andretti, Nazareth, Pa., Lola-Chevrolet, 158.802; 4. Danny Sullivan, Aspen, Colo., Lola-Alfa Romeo, 157.477; 5. John Andretti, Indianapolis, Lola-Chevrolet, 156.395; 6. Bobby Rahal, Dublin, Ohio, Lola-Chevrolet, 156.337; 7. Scott Brayton, Coldwater, Mich., Lola-Chevrolet, 155.712; 8. Emerson Fittipaldi, Brazil, Penske-Chevrolet, 155.277; 9. Scott Pruett, Dublin, Ohio, Truesports-Judd, 154.861; 10. Al Unser Jr., Albuquerque, N.M., Lola-Chevrolet, 154.226.

11. Scott Goodyear, Canada, Lola-Judd, 153.877; 12. Eddie Cheever, Aspen, Colo., Lola-Chevrolet, 153.522; 13. Jeff Andretti, Nazareth, Pa., Lola-Cosworth, 153.100; 14. Arie Luyendyk, Netherlands, Lola-Chevrolet, 152.215; 15. A.J. Foyt, Houston, Lola-Chevrolet, 151.814; 16. Hiro Matsushita, Japan, Lola-Cosworth, 151.283; 17. Mike Groff, Northridge, Calif., Lola-Cosworth, 149.974

18. Tony Bettenhausen, Indianapolis, 1990 Penske-Chevrolet, 149.430; 19. Johnny Parsons, Indianapolis, 1990 Lola-Cosworth, 141.657; 20. Dale Coyne, Plainfield, Ill., 1990 Lola-Cosworth, 141.489; 21. Pancho Carter, Brownsburg, Ind., 1989 Lola-Buick, 137.510.

Canadian Grand Prix

MONTREAL -- World-champion driver Ayrton Senna's string of pole positions ended at seven yesterday, when Riccardo Patrese of Italy clocked the best qualifying time.

Senna, who had won 30 of the past 40 pole positions during four seasons, had captured the pole and the race in all four Formula One events this year. He had won seven straight poles, stretching his career record to 56, going back to the Portuguese Grand Prix last season.

The Brazilian driver had only the third-best qualifying time for today's race.

Patrese took the pole, driving his Williams-Renault through a lap in 1 minute, 19.837 seconds at an average speed of 124.123 mph.

His teammate, Briton Nigel Mansell, was second, just four-tenths of a second slower. Senna, in a McLaren-Honda, was nearly eight-tenths of a second behind Patrese.

1. Riccardo Patrese, Italy, Williams-Renault, 1:19.837, 124.123 mph; 2. Nigel Mansell, Britain, Williams-Renault, 1:20.225; 3. Ayrton Senna, Brazil, McLaren-Honda, 1:20.318; 4. Alain Prost, France, Ferrari, 1:20.656; 5. Roberto Moreno, Brazil, Benetton-Ford, 1: 20.686; 6. Gerhard Berger, Austria, McLaren-Honda, 1:20.916; 7. Jean Alesi, France, Ferrari, 1:21.227; 8. Nelson Piquet, Brazil, Benetton-Ford, 1:21.241; 9. Stefano Modena, Italy, Tyrell-Honda, 1:21.298; 10. Emanuele Pirro, Italy, BMS Dallara-Judd, 1:21.864.

11. Andrea de Cesaris, Italy, Jordan-Ford, 1: 22.154; 12. Satoro Nakajima, Japan, Tyrell-Honda, 1:22.262; 13. Ivan Capelli, Italy, Leyton House-Ilmor, 1:22.443; 14. Bernard Gachot, France, Jordan-Ford, 1:22.596; 15. Gianni Morbidelli, Italy, Minardi-Ferrari, 1:22.993; 16. Thierry Boutsen, Belgium, Ligier-Lamborghini, 1:23.040; 17. J.J. Lehto, Finland, BMS Dallara-Judd, 1:23.040; 18. Pier Luigi Martini, Italy, Minardi-Ferrari, 1:23.125; 19. Eric Bernard, France, Lola-Ford,1:23.260; 20. Martin Brundle, Britain, Brabham-Yamaha, 1:23.516.

21. Michele Alboreto, Italy, Footwork-Porsche, 1:23.529; 22. Aguri Suzuki, Japan, Lola-Ford, 1:23.585; 23. Mauricio Gugelmin, Brazil, Leyton House-Ilmor, 1:23.650; 24. Mikka Hakkinen, Finland, Lotus-Judd, 1:23.923; 25. Stephan Johansson, Sweden, Footwork-Porsche, 1:24.433; 26. Erik Comas, France, Ligier-Lamborghini, 1:24.460; 27. Fabrizio Barbazza, Italy, AGS-Ford, 1:24.491; 28. Gabriele Tarquini, Italy, AGS-Ford, 1:24.653; 29. Mark Blundell, Britain, Brabham-Yamaha, 1:24.661; 30. Johnny Herbert, Britain, Lotus-Judd, 1:24.732.

Budweiser 200

DOVER, Del. -- Todd Bodine won his first NASCAR Grand National race, as Davey Allison's car fell off the pace just before the last lap under caution in the Budweiser 200.

Two leading cars collapsed in the final three laps on the mile oval.

"We should have been third but the circumstances worked out," said Bodine, 27, younger brother of Winston Cup drivers Geoff and Brett Bodine. He won $19,225 in a Buick.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.