Northeast places 3 players, coach in Crown All-Star Game

May 31, 1991|By Mike Frainie

Northeast High School will be represented by three of its baseball players and its head coach at the 10th annual Crown All-Star Game, to be played at Memorial Stadium on June 30 following the Orioles and Boston Red Sox game.

The teams, divided into North and South using the Baltimore City-Anne Arundel County line as a boundary, were selected from 150 players who tried out.

"I'm sure we didn't make everybody happy," said Mount St. Joseph coach Dave Norton, a member of the selection committee. "It came down to several tough choices and we did our best."

The Eagles, 24-0 and state Class 2A champions, are represented by pitcher Charles Buckheit, infielder Russ Curry, outfielder Craig Everett and coach Harry Lentz.

North team

Pitchers: Ryan Clark, Mount St. Joseph; Jerry Fisher, Southern-Baltimore; Kevin Loewe, Perry Hall; Bryan Bowen, Archbishop Curley. Catchers: Joe Petryszak, Archbishop Curley; Ken Konopacki, Calvert Hall. Infielders: Chris Larrick, South Carroll; Brett Kintz, Towson; Shannon McKenzie, Beall; Ryan Beard, St. Maria Goretti; Jeff Wagner, Liberty. Outfielders: Roy Marsh, Perry Hall; Ken Batten, C.M. Wright; Wes Pratt, North East (Cecil); Keith Kormanik, Gilman. Coaches: Joe Binder, Calvert Hall; Chuck Eberly, Beall; Marvin Dorsey, Northwestern.

South team

Pitchers: Dave Mummart, Surrattsville; Charles Buckheit, Northeast; Matt Moore, Walt Whitman; Jeff Beard, Arundel. Catchers: Pat Colliere, DeMatha; Pat Anderson, Paint Branch. Infielders: Juan Johnson, Thomas Stone; Eric Scott, Old Mill; Scott Young, Arundel; Chris Rodriguez, Riverdale Baptist; Russ Curry, Northeast. Outfielders: Craig Everett, Northeast; Jeff Cyran, Hammond; Troy Brohann, Cambridge-South Dorchester; Tony Kendall, Surrattsville. Coaches: Harry Lentz, Northeast; Paul Fahrner, Paint Branch; Bill Timberlake, High Point.

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.