Hirsch Sweeps Mayoral Race In Havre De Grace

Correri, Vancherie And Lambert Win Seats

May 12, 1991|By Alan J. Craver | Alan J. Craver,Staff writer

Incumbent Havre de Grace Mayor Gunther D. Hirsch coasted to victory in his re-election bid Tuesday, defeating a political newcomer by more than a 3-1 margin.

In other municipal races in Havre de Grace and Aberdeen, voters also returned three incumbents to their seats on the municipal boards.

Hirsch, a 65-year-old retired physician, won his second two-year term by capturing 1,377 of the ballots cast, city election results show.

Challenger Jane Jacksteit, who based her campaign on the need for change in Havre de Grace government, received 442 votes.

Hirsch attributed the victory to his record of upgrading the city's basic services, from getting roads repaired to improvements in the city storm water management system.

"It's basically the people saying, 'Continue what you're doing,' " Hirsch said. "You can't put it into words. People know me very well here. Basically, they trust me."

In his new term, Hirsch said he hopes to guide Havre de Grace through leaneconomic times by providing municipal services within a balanced budget.

Hirsch added that he wants to get citizens involved in "cleaning up the city" -- from battling illegal drug sales to enforcing housing codes.

Hirsch, a registered Democrat, became mayor in 1989 after spending six years on the City Council. He says he had long been involved in Havre de Grace community organizations before entering politics.

Jacksteit, a retired secretary who moved to Havre de Gracein 1973, said during the campaign that the city must do more to protect its historic character from development. She is a registered Republican.

In the Havre de Grace council race, incumbents John P. Correri Jr. and James C. Vancherie Jr. were the top vote-getters for three available seats on the seven-member board.

Rene A. Lambert, wholost by two votes in 1989's council race, captured the third available council seat.

City officials said 1,841 residents cast ballots in Tuesday's election, representing about 51 percent of the 3,647 registered voters.

Correri, 39, was appointed to council in 1977 but did not seek re-election in the 1987-1988 term and won back his seat in 1989. He is an account representative for Bel Air Produce Co. in Baltimore.

Vancherie, 67, was first elected to the council in 1989.He owns the Vancherie Restaurant and two apartment buildings, all inHavre de Grace.

Lambert, 62, retired as chief of the Track Vehicle Division at Aberdeen Proving Ground in 1986, after working at the facility for 32 years.

Lambert replaces incumbent Kay Mike, who didnot seek re-election.

* The vote totals for City Council were:

John P. Correri Jr.: 1,338

James C. Vancherie Jr.: 1,221

Rene A. Lambert: 853

Fred H. Cullum: 571

June Gallagher: 328

Kevin Racine: 289


In Aberdeen, incumbent Ronald Kupferman won hisseventh term on the Town Board of Commissioners. Political newcomer Macon L. Tucker Jr. won the second available seat.

Town officials said 1,574 residents cast ballots in the election, about 36 percent of the 4,449 registered voters.

Kupferman, 50, is a quality controlsupervisor at American Cyanamid Co., a chemical company in Havre de Grace. He has been a town commissioner since 1979 and served as mayorfrom 1981 to 1985.

Tucker, 40, is a physical-education instructorat Aberdeen High School. Tucker replaces incumbent Raymond H. Warfield, who did not seek re-election.

* The vote totals for the Board of Commissioners were:

Ronald Kupferman: 594

Macon L. Tucker Jr.: 567

William Benjamin Jr.: 318

John M. Bailiff: 95

Baltimore Sun Articles
Please note the green-lined linked article text has been applied commercially without any involvement from our newsroom editors, reporters or any other editorial staff.